[Review] Holika Holika Fairy Water Pure Fresh Emulsion

Hey everyone! I have another review for you guys…I bought this a few months ago during my Pacific Mall mini-haul, as a few of you may remember.

2014-10-30 20.58.59

I meant to buy the Aqua Fantasy emulsion from Holika Holika, like I mentioned at the beginning of the year on this post, but it was ~$25.00 with tax, and this was only ~15.00, so I decided to get this one instead.

Its claim is pretty simple…and also full of Engrish, but here it is: “[Hypoallergenic] skincare with 6 irritant-free formula for your delicate skin. Magical fairy water makes your skin moist and revitalized.” So…yeah. Like I said before, pretty simple, but gets the point across (Well enough).

It comes in simple but adorable packaging, befitting its name. It’s also nice and sturdy, but still plastic (Which is better, anyways…I’d probably break it if it were a glass bottle). I also like how you can see how much product is left. The only thing I don’t really like about it is how you dispense the product, which is through the bottle’s wide opening.

2014-10-12 01.56.38

I don’t really like using a cotton pad with this product because it just gets soaked up, but it’s hard to control the amount of product dispensed, anyways. I learned to control it a little better as I used it more, but I wish they had thought this out a little better.

2014-10-12 01.57.24

This product is milky white in colour, and thicker than an essence but still pretty watery. It’s sort of like a cross between a gel and an essence, leaning more towards an essence. It looks way waterier and clearer in that above swatch…not sure why that is.

It has a slight perfumed scent, but nothing too bad.

A little goes a long way with this product. I just took these pictures, and, as you can see, I haven’t used much of it…and it’s been 3 months since I started using it, both morning and night. It also absorbs pretty quickly, with no film or stickiness left behind. This is great to use before your cream.

It doesn’t irritate skin at all, and it helps moisturize skin a little. For oily skinned people, you might be able to go with just this emulsion during the day in the summer. There is actually no cream in this line (It’s for oily skin), besides one that absorbs oil. However, this definitely does not do enough for dry skin…or my dry patches.

It does make a pretty good addition to your regular skincare, routine, though.

Pros:

  • Hypoallergenic
  • Simple but sturdy and cute packaging
  • Little goes a long way
  • Absorbed quickly
  • No film or residue
  • Helps moisturize a little
  • Might be sufficient for oily skinned people

Cons:

  • Wide opening to dispense product (Difficult to control amount)
  • Not enough for dry skin, or the winter time (Alone)

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

Though I’m still sort of eyeing the Aqua Fantasy one (I’ll just wait until I run out of this one and there’s a sale somewhere online), I’m glad I bought this one. I’m thinking of perhaps filling this little container with stars after, because it’s just so cute…and I love the colour! An emulsion is definitely helping to keep my skin (Read: My dry patches) moisturized as the weather gets colder and harsher. Glad I made this purchase!

2 thoughts on “[Review] Holika Holika Fairy Water Pure Fresh Emulsion

  1. Pingback: The 15 Most Economical Products I’ve Ever Used | delicatedesire

  2. Pingback: [Review] Skinfood Broccoli Watery Ampoule | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

