[Review] Yves Rocher Vanille Noire

Hey guys! I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving weekend…and are looking forward to the upcoming weekend (Breaks are always welcome, right?). Anyways, I’m going to do a short review of a sample I received a while ago…enjoy!

2014-10-12 01.56.03

I tried the Lush Vanillary solid perfume a little while ago and I loved the scent, but I thought that the staying power wasn’t very good, so I was glad when I got the chance to try this perfume. I love vanilla and I was hoping the scent would last a little longer, but also that it wouldn’t be too strong.

I wasn’t aware that Yves Rocher had a scent like this (I don’t really keep up with these kinds of things…), so I was pleasantly surprised. I was a little worried that it would be too overwhelming, because liquid perfumes usually are and the ‘noire’ was somewhat intimidating (Since it sounds like it’d be one of those stronger perfumes).

The sample bottle is pretty nice and simple, and sturdy too. It’s also pretty easy to use…I basically just dab this onto my wrists then rub my wrists on my neck and behind my ears. A little goes a long way, and this perfume is definitely stronger than the Lush one but not overwhelming, which was nice. You could smell it, but it was more subtle than your average perfume.

The vanilla smell of this one is a little artificial, but, overall, it’s pretty nice and definitely there. It doesn’t smell sickeningly sweet like some…it’s a bit more of a mature scent than those “Vanilla birthday cake” scents or whatever. I’m definitely liking it so far.

Now…the lasting power of this perfume is actually pretty decent, and much better than the solid perfume. It goes strong for about 3 hours before it starts to fade, but you can still smell it (If the person is, say, standing right next to you). At the end of the day, you can only smell it if you put your wrist up to your nose, though. However, I’d say the overall lasting power of this perfume is around 8 hours, which isn’t bad.

I’ve grown to really like this scent because it’s vanilla, which I love, but it’s a bit more of a mature take on it, without being too overwhelming. It’s the perfect mix of flirty and mature and so many other things, and it’s a bit difficult to describe…perfumes are all about personal preference, though, so I’m sure many of you out there will have different opinions than me about this scent.

I like this scent, though, and am definitely glad to have been able to try it out!

Pros:

  • Nice, simple bottle that’s easy to use
  • Little goes a long way
  • Not too overwhelming
  • Nice vanilla scent, not too sweet, mature
  • Decent lasting power

Cons:

  • Smells a little artificial
  • Starts to fade after only 3 hours

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I purchase? Yes!

It’s hard to find a perfume I like because I like sweet scents (Especially vanilla, as you can probably tell), but I don’t like the sickeningly sweet scents, or ones that are too strong, so it can be a little difficult to find a perfume that meets all of that criteria. I’m glad to have finally found one that smells great and has good lasting power.

One thought on “[Review] Yves Rocher Vanille Noire

  1. Pingback: The 15 Most Economical Products I’ve Ever Used | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

