[Review] C.O. Bigelow Rose Salve The Classic All-Purpose Salve

Hello everyone! I hope you all had a great Thanksgiving. Anyways, I’m here with a (belated) review of a classic, that many of you have probably heard about. I guess I’m a little late jumping onto this bandwagon but hey, better late than never, right?

2014-04-21 18.16.21

Anyways, I got this for about $5.00, which is a little pricey for a lip balm (What I had been planning to use it for), but nothing too bad. I also had a coupon for 10% off (I got this at Bath and Body Works, by the way), and had been planning to try it out for a while, so there was no doubt I was going to end up getting this when I walked into the store that fateful day.

It’s apparently “been a favourite since the early days, due to its ability to care for lips and beautify skin. Emulsified with extra-soothing rose extract, to help ease irritation and condition the skin. May be used on lips, face, cuticles, elbows, knees, chapped or very dry skin patches”. The fact that this isn’t tested on animals is a nice bonus, too.

Although a lot of people don’t like how they have to put their finger in the pot and all, I’m fine with it since I only use it at night. I can see how it’d be an inconvenience to carry around and apply on the go, though, compared to a tube. But I love this little tin, because it’s nice and sturdy and has a vintage feel to it that I really like. Definitely keeping this afterwards…I think it’d make a nice paper clip tin.

This salve smells absolutely amazing…at least, to me. I love roses, so the subtle scent of roses in this salve is definitely appealing. It’s not overwhelming at all, either, so this would be suitable for even those who are sensitive to scents.

2014-04-21 18.16.55

This is a sort of orange-rose in colour (Basically the colour you see in the picture above), and feels like a balm…which is expected. When applied, it’s not sticky at all but actually gives your lips a bit of a glossy look. It’s colourless, which is great for me since I’m only using this at night. It’d look great even on its own for a natural daytime look, though.

A little goes a pretty long way…two swipes of my finger and I have enough for my lips. So one tin will should last you a pretty long time.

Now…how did this product perform?

All I can say is that this is definitely a miracle worker of sorts. It made my chapped lips nice and soft after just one night, and I was amazed. I tried using it on my elbows and cuticles, too, and it had the same effect. Seriously, though…my elbows are softer than ever (Which sounds a little weird, but definitely not a bad thing!). I haven’t tried using it on my knees (It’s hard to get enough salve to cover my knee, and I can imagine that it’d feel a little weird) or face (Not quite ready to take that step, yet), though.

However, when I ran out of hand cream right when the cold weather hit, a few dry patches appeared on my hands, and this salve fixed them right up.

In short: This magical little salve has made my life a little better, which is always a good thing.

Pros:

  • Not tested on animals
  • Sturdy, vintage looking tin
  • Subtle rose scent
  • Makes lips glossy without any stickiness
  • Colourless
  • A little goes a long way
  • Moisturizes anything from dry lips to dry skin to elbows to cuticles…you name it, this skin saver can moisturize it!

Cons:

  • Pricey
  • Inconvenient and less hygienic compared to a tube
  • Might be weird to apply to knees and/or face

Overall rating: 9.5/10

Would I repurchase? Definitely!

I can totally see why this is loved by so many, since I know how they feel! I use this every night now and am definitely going to run out to buy another tin once I see this one’s about to run out. I’ve used it for about 2 months now and I seem to have barely made a dent in it, though, so it might be awhile before my next tin…well, lots of product + lots of uses = happy me, so I’m not going to complain!

4 thoughts on “[Review] C.O. Bigelow Rose Salve The Classic All-Purpose Salve

  1. Pingback: 10 Days of Favourites: Day 7 | delicatedesire

  2. Pingback: The 15 Most Economical Products I’ve Ever Used | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

