[Review] Garnier Skin Naturals Pure Long Lasting Shine Control Moisturizer

Hi everyone! I’m so sorry that there hasn’t been anything new for almost a week…if you’ve been reading my other blog, you’ve probably seen that there are new posts on there, though. That’s actually because I scheduled those…to tell the truthful, I’ve neglected both. This past week has been crazy busy, though…but now I’m back, and with another review!

2014-04-09 17.16.14

I’ve been using this moisturizer for almost a year now…and my opinion on it has changed quite a bit!

2014-04-09 17.16.43

Let me start with the packaging, though: It’s in a simple, blue squeeze tube. It’s sanitary and convenient, but the only thing that I don’t like about it is that the tube is completely opaque do I can’t see how much is left. Especially since the tube is weightier than I thought, so I can never tell…I could almost be out right at this moment, and wouldn’t know until I start having to shake it and squeeze it every which way to get some out.

It got this for about ~$10.00, which wasn’t too bad. Strangely enough, this doesn’t seem to be a super common drugstore moisturizer, because I’ve only seen it in a few places…it made me wonder why, but I decided to go ahead and try it anyways.

It claims to purify, control oil, mattify skin, keep skin moisturized all day, be non-greasy and non-comedogenic as well as act as a make-up base. It apparently contains zinc and white clay. They say this is best used for oily, acne-prone skin.

2014-04-09 17.17.12

The cream is a light blue, sort of like the tube, and is more of a gel than a cream, I’d say. It smells pretty weird, though…sort of like clay, which makes sense. I don’t really like it, though, especially since it doesn’t fade right away. In fact, I can still smell it on my hands after about 15 minutes (Which is why I usually wash my hands after applying this).

Another thing I didn’t like about this is the fact I can feel it as a separate layer on my face…and I guess that makes sense, since it’s supposed to be a makeup base. However, I don’t wear make-up on a daily basis so I didn’t really like the feeling. It says you can use this at night, but I never do.

It makes a decent make-up base…if you put on a lot of make-up, though, you might still want to use a make-up base, though.

Now…onto the positives.

True to its claim, this does instantly mattify your skin. It’s great because it can also be used a sort of touch-up throughout the day…unless you have make-up on, in which case you probably don’t want to slather this all over it.

It has some oil control…maybe keeps your skin from getting oily for about an extra hour or so? By the end of the day, I didn’t think my skin was any different than it would’ve been without it, though. Still looked shiny, much to my disappointment.

I’m not sure about the whole purifying part, but I didn’t have any negative reactions to this product.

I didn’t experience much of a positive effect, either, though. Besides oil control, it didn’t do much for my skin…it was a decent moisturizer for my oily T-zone, but not enough for my dry patches (Combination skin problems…). I had to use a night cream that was more moisturizing to keep my skin from getting too dry.

This was why I didn’t like it at first.

However, after a little while, I grew to really like this product. Not only does it make my skin matte, it gives it a sort of glow…it’s difficult to explain, but it’s there. And I love it. Plus, the texture was nice (I really like gel-type creams) and I ended up thinking the make-up base double-function of this product was nice to have for days I just use concealer. I don’t want to put on make-up base for such light make-up, but this does help without the extra hassle.

And I am now on my second tube. One tube lasts about 6 months, which is pretty good.

Pros:

  • Good price
  • Nice, simple packaging that’s easy-to-use
  • Instantly mattifies
  • Some oil control
  • Gives skin a bit of a glow
  • Gel-type cream
  • Doubles as a decent make-up base
  • Can be used as a touch-up throughout day
  • One tube lasts a pretty long time

Cons:

  • A little hard to find
  • Tube is opaque
  • Weird smell that lingers
  • Separate layer feels strange (Make-up base)
  • Might not be a good make-up base for heavy make-up
  • Not too moisturizing

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? I already have.

This is one of those products that just grow on you (Or me, I guess…). I didn’t really like it until I was almost at the end of my first tube, when I started to change my mind about it. I love using it right after exfoliating in the morning because that healthy glow just looks amazing. And extra shine control is always nice. Anyways, thanks for stopping by…I’ll try to make more time for this blog!

2 thoughts on “[Review] Garnier Skin Naturals Pure Long Lasting Shine Control Moisturizer

  1. Pingback: [Review] Etude House Face Conditioning Cream (SPF25/PA++) | delicatedesire

  2. Pingback: [Review] Garnier Moisture Rescue Refreshing Gel-Cream | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

