[Review] Etude House Sunprise All-Proof SPF50+ PA+++

Hello, hello! It’s officially fall now, so I guess this review is a little late…but hey, let’s consider it an early start on planning for next summer’s skincare regime.

2014-08-29 12.29.40

So, I got a nice little sample of this from a recent order from Jolse and tried it out near the end of summer. If you’ve read some of my previous posts, then you probably would’ve know that I’m on the look-out for the perfect summer facial sunscreen. I’ve tried out ones that have failed me in strange ways, but I had some hopes for this one. I was also hoping it would restore my faith in Etude House after my past fails with their products.

It claims are pretty simple (Which is nice): Water, sand and dye proof. It also provides protection from UV, whitens (I think that’s what anti-melanin means…?) and anti-wrinkle.

One thing that disappointed me a little was that it wasn’t oil-proof, which would’ve been nice because my T-zone gets pretty oily during the summer. I don’t really understand the ‘dye-proof’ part, but okay. And I guess the ‘sand-proof’ part will be useful if you go to the beach or something and happen to face plant…?

The design for the full-size bottle is simple, but just cute enough to be appealing. I actually really like it, especially since the images on it have such a nice summery feel to them.

I find this a little bit pricey, though…it’s ~$12.00 for a 1.76 oz (~50mL) tube (On Jolse), and getting it shipped from another country is always a little bit of a hassle…well, it just comes with loving Korean cosmetics in a foreign country, I guess.

This is white, like all the other sunscreen’s I’ve tried, and even has the same sort of general scent, except a little more subtle, which was nice. It had a pretty thin consistency for a sunscreen, though.

It doesn’t leave any sort of sticky feeling behind, which some sunscreens do (And I hate it), although you can feel a sort of layer on your face. But I’ve come to expect that from sunscreens.

It does leave a slight white cast and makes my face look a little shiny. Not in a bad way, but not exactly in a good way either. And when my skin starts to get oily, it really doesn’t help.

Unlike some sunscreens, though, this doesn’t make my skin any oilier (Though the shininess may contribute to making my face look oilier). It doesn’t control oil or anything, either, but at least it doesn’t make things worse.

There was only enough in this packet to use for about 3 days, so I can’t really comment on whether it really does whiten (If that’s even what they meant in their claim), but I can say that this is pretty waterproof. I used it on my hands (To test it), washed them and there was still the shininess and slight white cast from the sunscreen.

I never tested out whether it was ‘sand’ or ‘dye’ proof…but it definitely did help keep me from tanning, so it does its job. Of course, like pretty much all sunscreens, you need to re-apply this every 4 hours or so.

Pros:

  • Nice packaging
  • Subtle scent
  • No sticky feeling
  • Doesn’t make skin oily
  • Waterproof
  • Keeps skin from tanning

Cons:

  • Not oil-proof (Doesn’t control oil)
  • Slight white cast
  • Makes skin shiny

Overall rating: 8/10

Would I purchase? Probably.

I still have another sunscreen to test out, but I was pretty satisfied with the overall performance of this product. Waterproof is always good and this did its job without having any negative effects on my skin. It has less of a white cast than most facial sunscreens, and I couldn’t really ask for much more from a facial sunscreen. So, if you’re in the market for a new sunscreen, you might want to consider checking this out!

Leave a Reply

