[Review] Nature Republic Super Aqua Max Combination Watery Cream

Hey everyone! Like I said before I have a ton of reviews that need to be written up and a couple of special posts, too! Stay tuned for that but, for now, enjoy another sample review!

2014-08-29 12.30.08

I’m also happy to say that, so far, I haven’t encountered any problems with the new editor (Yay!). In fact, posts are publishing pretty quickly (Which I had been worried about, since one of my previous posts took over 5 minutes just to publish)…so far, so good!

Anyways, today I’ll be reviewing a sample from Nature Republic…with an incredibly long name. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this product and so I had high hopes for it (Never a good thing, but I suppose I can’t help it). Its claims are: “Silicone gel network system. Shields skin formation, derived from natural moisturizing factor, maintain a sense of lack of water. Moist skin.” and it claims to be for combination and “fresh for T-zone, moisturize for U-zone. Smart moisturizing cream that works differently to each zone. Create thin layer on your face to protect skin from external environment and maintain skin to be moisturized”. Well…okay then. Some product descriptions have such bad English that it’s easier to just write it as it is rather than attempt to make it sound like it has proper grammar, and this is one of them.

Essentially, I think this moisturizes combination skin without making skin oilier, is natural because of some unstated source and protects your skin from the external environment and keeps it moisturized.

The full-size packaging for this product is this cute little jar with a pretty unique lid. I know a lot of people have problems with jars because of sanitary reasons and whatnot, but I’m okay with them…I always wash my hands before applying anything to my skin, anyways.

This cream goes for about $15.00 USD, though, which I find a little pricey. The prices, of course, differs, but the price I listed there is from the BeautyNetKorea website. They have 3 kinds, one for combination skin, one for dry skin and one for oily skin. I have combination skin, so this sample was perfect for me.

When I read that it was a “watery cream”, I got confused and labelled it as an emulsion. I was wrong, and I was very happy (And a little intrigued, to be honest) about it.

For starters, this cream is the milky white that most creams seem to be. However, it’s actually sort of a gel texture, which I loved. The thing that confused me at first (And that also made the texture of this gel-cream much more memorable than any other I had ever tried) is that, once you rub it, you realize that this isn’t your average gel cream at all. Now…this is where I run into trouble, because this is pretty hard to describe.

The best way I can describe it is this: They feel like a bunch of tiny exfoliating beads or how I imagine sorbet would feel (If it didn’t melt in my hands) that absorb really quickly and without a trace (No film, scent..nothing). It’s reminiscent of The Body Shop’s Body Sorbet, but not quite exactly the same…I suppose it’s one of those things you have to try for yourself. It also feels cool to apply during the summer (As long as you keep it in a cool place), which is nice.

Before I forget to mention it, it also has this subtle scent that’s not exactly pleasant but not unpleasant either…for me, it was just there. It fades after you apply it, though, so it didn’t really matter to me.

A little goes a surprisingly long way with this sample, and I was able to get a week’s of use from this tiny sample packet (I only used it at night, though, so that’s 7 uses in total…still pretty good, if you ask me!). I was a little skeptical and expected to wake up with oilier skin than usual, but never did!

Not only did it not make my skin oilier, but it didn’t break me out at all.

Even better, my skin felt moisturized after using this and the feeling lasted all day…it definitely keeps skin moisturized. And, unlike some products I’ve tried, this doesn’t dry out skin right after and create that cycle of dry, moisturized, even more dry.

All in all, a pretty nice sample to try!

Pros:

  • Cute packaging
  • Nice gel texture
  • Refreshing to apply
  • Scent is subtle and fades almost right away
  • No film or residue
  • Doesn’t make skin oilier or cause breakouts
  • Moisturizes skin

Cons:

  • Pricey

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I purchase? Yes.

This cream was really nice, and I think it’d be perfect even in the winter months. Doesn’t make my T-zone oilier but moisturizes my dry patches…it’s pretty difficult to find a cream that does that! It’s a bit pricey, though, so I think I’ll wait for a sale or something…glad I got this sample, though!

Leave a Reply

