[Review] Laneige Water Bank Essence

Hey everyone! I am so sorry about how I’ve been totally neglecting this blog, but I’ve just been so busy…the crazy weeks are finally over, though (At least, for now) and I’m back with reviews and more for you guys! Enjoy! Now…it seems WordPress has updated yet again. I think I can figure this out, but let’s hope I don’t encounter any problems like last time…

2014-08-29 12.32.00

This time I’m reviewing Laneige’s Water Bank Essence from my TesterKorea mini-haul from way back in July. I’ve seen mixed reviews about this product but decided not try it out for a couple reasons. I’ve been looking for an essence, there was a bit of a mix-up with my order (You can read about that in my mini-haul post) and the packaging was attractive. Not only was it not just a bunch of foil packets, but it’s actually a sanitary, convenient pump!

This product claims to be a “long-lasting hydration essence that provides clear and moist skin” and it says on the bottle that it’s for all skin types. There’s a whole 15 mL in there, so I thought that it would definitely be enough for me to come to some sort of verdict.

2014-09-22 13.45.13

The essence is milky white and really watery, which is expected from essences. A little goes a long way (The amount you see in the pictures above is enough to cover my entire face) and is absorbed pretty quickly. It does leave a bit of a film behind, though (Even though you can’t really see it in the picture, I could feel it every time I applied this).

2014-09-22 13.45.33

It also has a pretty strong perfumed scent which doesn’t disappear right after applying it. I can smell it on my hands for about the next 10 minutes, which I don’t really like. Usually they fade when you apply it but, for some reason, this one didn’t. If you’re sensitive to scents, or don’t like those sorts of smells in general, that’s something to think about before purchasing this product.

This essence didn’t make my skin any oilier than it is usually, which is nice, and I noticed that my skin was slightly more moisturized but there wasn’t much improvement other than that.

After 2 weeks, however, I did notice a change in my skin. And it wasn’t a good one.

I had thought that, because of stress, I was breaking out but it started to get worse and I started to get whiteheads on my forehead and chin. Even worse, I got these painful clusters of whiteheads and pimples on my temples and I could not figure out for the life of me why that was happening (I never had that kind of thing happen before). I didn’t think of this product right away because I had already been using this for 2 weeks, but I had my suspicions.

Lo and behold, I stop using the essence and the breakout is pretty much gone in about 2 weeks. On the downside, I now have quite a few new acne scars to deal with.

In short, I stopped using this essence. Not like it made my skin much better even before the breakout, anyways.

Well…at least I caught it in time.

Pros:

  • Nice packaging
  • Little goes a long way
  • Absorbs quickly
  • Doesn’t make skin oilier
  • Slightly moisturizing

Cons:

  • Leaves a slight film behind
  • Perfumed scent
  • Scent doesn’t fade right away
  • Caused a major breakout

Overall rating: 4/10

Would I purchase? Definitely not.

This is one experience I’m okay with never going through again. And at least it was only a sample size. I’m currently using it as a sort of hand cream (It still doesn’t do much, though), but I done with this Laneige line. Maybe some of you will have better luck with this. If you have combination acne-prone skin like me, though…proceed with caution. Or maybe I just got unlucky. Well…onto the next, I guess!

Leave a Reply

