[Review] Nature Republic The First Ampoule Essence

Hey guys! So…I decided to post another review to make up for being MIA for a while. In addition, I’ll probably be super busy starting next week, with school starting and whatnot, so I might not be able to post as often for the next little while. Don’t worry, though! I’ll try to make time for this…just please bear with me. Enjoy!

2014-08-18 16.26.30

So I got this sample as part of my TesterKorea mini-haul from last month. It claims to have fermented yeast extract and herb complex along with other naturally fermented ingredients to revitalize, moisture and tighten skin. It also cleanses dead skin cells and controls sebum. The 7 types of organic herb extracts pacify and care for the skin, and 80% of the product is fermented yeast. This also apparently brightens skin’s overall tone. That just sounds amazing, doesn’t it? I won’t be able to prove anything about whether the ingredients are really naturally fermented or what percentage of the product is fermented yeast, but I’ll definitely try my best to give you guys an idea of whether or not this product really lives up to this incredible claim.

1342073724_l1

So, to start off the sample packet for this product was nice, clean and simple…just like the packaging itself! This whole line looks clean and simple…the ingredients they claim to use are also natural, so I guess it fits what they’re trying to go for.

This essence is on a clear sort of gel, but in terms of consistency, it’s definitely on the thin side. It has a slight scent, but nothing too overwhelming. The scent disappears once you apply it to skin, as well.

2014-08-18 16.26.52

A little goes a long way with this product. What you see in that little swatch shown above is basically the amount I use for my entire face and neck. This goes for pretty much all products that I’ve used that have a thinner consistency.

2014-08-18 16.27.06

It absorbed pretty quickly, although it did leave a sort of film behind, which I didn’t really like. Once I put cream on over it, though, the film pretty much disappeared. But I still dislike the fact that it left one at all.

I used this for about 3 days, but still had quite a lot of product left in the sample packet before I stopped. So…why did I decide to stop using it?

It was because after only 3 days, it made my dry patches (Which had gone away as a result of my current skincare routine) come back! And it dried my skin to the point where it was itchy and even felt sort of flaky. Definitely not what I was going for. 2 days after I stopped using this, my skin was pretty much back to normal.

I don’t think I used it enough to actually be able to confidently comment on the effects of the product, but I will say that I saw no positive changes in my skin.

So, despite the amazing claim this product has…my experience with it ends here.

Pros:

  • Clean and simple packaging
  • A little goes a long way
  • Absorbs quickly

 

Cons:

  • Left a film on skin
  • Dried out my skin

 

Overall rating: 3/10

Would I purchase? No.

As great as this product and its ingredients sounds, things didn’t go well for me. They might work better for some of you, but I’m done with this one. So this means that I’m still looking for a good essence…well, at least I got a chance to try a sample. I can’t even imagine my reaction if I had purchased the full-size version of this.

Leave a Reply

