[Review] Holika Holika 3 Seconds Starter Hyaluronic Acid

Hey everyone! Sorry for being MIA…I’ve been sooo busy lately. But I’m back, and with another review!

2014-08-18 16.26.17

I got a sample of this product a little while back and I remember thinking it was some sort of make-up primer when I first got it (Because of the word ‘starter’ in the name, I guess)…ha ha, opps!

What it really is is a interesting little product that you put on before your other skincare items to prep your skin and boost efficiency of other products, in a way. The hyaluronic acid in this one claims to also provide moisture for dry skin and promotes elasticity for skin. Do we really need another product in our skincare routines? Well, first, let’s see how well this works!

Alright, so this product was a clear, watery substance. I had a difficult time with the packet because it was so runny and I kept accidentally squeezing out too much of the product and it got all over my fingers…you don’t need very much of this for your entire face. I got a week’s worth of product in this tiny packet, so the full-size bottle should last a really long time.

Holika Holika 3 Seconds Starter_Hyaluronic Acid

Speaking of the full-size product, the packaging for this is pretty nice. It’s clean and simple, but also has a touch of cute. I especially like the pump…hygienic, quick and convenient to use!

This has a slight perfumed scent that goes away once you apply it. It absorbs into skin pretty quickly without any residue, and I could start applying other products right away.

So, after using it for a week…did I see any effect?

I’m sorry to say that this product doesn’t really work. It didn’t seem to boost efficiency or elasticity or anything…my skin might have been a tad bit softer, but it was such a slight difference that it might have just been my wishful thinking (I can never seem to tell).

As interesting as this idea is, this isn’t a product that I would deem necessary to have in your skincare routine.

Pros:

  • A little goes a long way
  • Absorbs quickly
  • Doesn’t leave residue on skin
  • Nice packaging

 

Cons:

  • Doesn’t seem to do anything

 

Overall rating: 4/10

Would I purchase? No.

To be honest, I find this not only totally unnecessary but sort of useless. That’s just my opinion, though (I’m also slightly biased because I’m broke right now…). It really is a nice idea in theory, a product that boosts the effects of your other products, but it doesn’t really do that. Nothing was inherently wrong with this product (It didn’t have a strong scent, didn’t leave a film, didn’t cause any adverse effects)…except that it didn’t really work. Which is enough to make most of us skip this. Of course, feel free to give it a try (I’d suggest in sample size)…it was an interesting product to try out.

Leave a Reply

