[Review] Lancôme Color Design Eye-Brightening 5 Shadow & Liner Palette

Hey everyone! I have another eyeshadow review for you guys today…hope you enjoy!

2014-05-31 21.54.42

Please excuse all the fingerprints and whatnot on my palette…

I got this little palette as a part of a “gift with purchase” event that Lancôme had a little while back. The name’s quite a mouthful, but it claims to be a “versatile, all-in-one palette [that] conveniently created a full eye look for day or night”. It also claims to be a long-wear, 8-hour formula that doesn’t fade.

This palette usually goes for a whopping $55.00…as with most, if not all, Lancôme products, they cost a LOT.

2014-05-31 21.55.01

 

This is the best picture of the colours that I could get…just imagine them all a little darker (That liner, for example, is black as night in real life).

The palette has a mirror on the inside, which is nice (Especially for on-the-go touchups). The full-size comes with eyeshadow applicators, which might be useful on-the-go, but I’d probably never use them (Since I generally don’t touch-up my make-up).

2014-05-31 21.55.46

I can’t seem to properly capture the all-over base colour because of glitter and lighting…that plum looks pink in the above picture but, I promise you, it’s actually a nice, rich, deep plum…all the colours look lighter in the above picture, though…sorry about that!

I got this palette in 301 Mauve Chérie. The colours in the picture seem to change depending on angle and lighting and whatnot (The one I posted before is a more accurate depiction of the colours than the one directly above, though), but I’ll describe the actual colours to you. The base is a nice, sparkly nude that works great as a base or highlighting shade. Beneath that, there’s a sparkly plum that I use only for smoky looks, a deep violet and a lighter, more pale purple. The liner is just black. As you can see, they’re all glittery.

The shades are all actually pretty nice, though. And they have a lot of colour options, in case this doesn’t really suit your taste (I got this as a sample, though, so no complaints here).

Lancôme eyeshadows are my HG so I was expecting quite a lot out of this palette. It seemed great to have 5 colours and a liner put together for me. However, all the shades were pretty glittery, so I never wear them all at the same time. I don’t really want to risk turning into a disco ball.

On the back of the palette, they label each shade and basically sort of tell you which shades to use wear to create a look that uses each shade.

Personally, I use the “all-over base” the most because I use it with my other eyeshadows, too. I use the “crease” and “highlighter” shades least, because they’re not really my kind of colour. I only use the crease colour sometimes when I want to create a smoky eye sort of look, and then use the lid shade on the edge of my eyes followed by a black.

I rarely use the liner, because glittery black liners aren’t really my thing. However, in the few times that I have used it, it was really nice. Really made an impact because of its pigmentation and was easy to apply, too. If only it wasn’t so glittery…this is probably going to be the last shade to be used up, though (If it’s ever used up at all).

These shadows, despite all the glitter, actually go on pretty smooth, with no fallout. They blend really well and are super pigmented. The colour you see in the palette is basically the colour that you’ll get on your lid, so I’d apply these with a light hand to prevent that dreaded disco ball look.

The all-over shade really does brighten up your eyes and makes you look more awake, though…definitely my favourite colour in the palette.

They wear great, even without primer. They definitely last at LEAST 8 hours. When applied with primer, it lasts all day and looks almost as good in the evening as it does right after you apply it. One of my favourite things about Lancôme shadows.

These aren’t as glittery on lids as they look in the palette (Thankfully), but I don’t think I’m going to try them all together anytime soon…I’m still wary of wearing that much glitter all at once.

Pros:

  • Convenient packaging
  • Nice colour selection
  • Smooth application with no fallout
  • Blend well
  • Really pigmented
  • Brightens up eyes
  • Last all day with minimal fading

Cons:

  • Expensive
  • A bit too glittery
  • Won’t use all the shades

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I purchase? Maybe.

As much as I love the concept of an all-in-one palette, and that there really are some nice colours in here (And that getting a palette costs less than getting each individual colour), it feels like somewhat of a waste since I’m not going to use up all the shades. Honestly, I’m probably going to use up the base and plum shades first and then not really want to use this palette anymore. I’m probably the type of person who’s better off buying individual shadows (Especially since this palette is still a bit too glittery for my taste). For those who love glittery, smokey eyes, though, this is probably right up your alley.

Leave a Reply

