[Review] Camomile Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover

Hey everyone! I’m back, and this time I have a recent favourite to review for you guys.

2014-05-31 21.57.30

This was recommended to me last year by a The Body Shop employee when I was in their shop (It was during a Buy 3, Get 3 free event and I just so happened to have a few things I wanted to buy there).

Anyhow, I’m not a big fan of makeup removers because not only are they usually pretty harsh on my skin, but they also generally smell weird. Lucky for me, I don’t wear much eye makeup…but still.

So I was a little skeptical about this (I’ve tried ‘gentle’ eye make-up removers that were not at all gentle), but I had trust in The Body Shop and camomile has some good skin benefits, so I decided to give this a try.

It was around $18.00, which is a little pricey in my opinion, but I decided to get it because of the Buy 3, Get 3 Free event.

The bottle is nice and simple, yet functional, which is perfect. It’s travel friendly, which is really nice.

It has a subtle fragrance, but nothing too overwhelming. Pretty artificial, yes, but nothing unbearable.

The remover is just a clear liquid, and basically looks and feels like water (Although I wouldn’t recommend drinking it). Nothing really special about it.

After using this for the first time, any doubts I had about it not being a gentle eye make-up remover disappeared. This didn’t irritate my skin nor was it really harsh…it was actually sort of soothing, much to my surprise.

It’s not as effective as some of the stronger (But harsher) make-up removers that I’ve tried in the past, but I can overlook that because it’s gentle and works pretty well. It takes a couple swipes to take off regular make-up, and I usually leave two cotton pads soaked in this on my eyelids for about 30 seconds then wipe when I’m wearing waterproof makeup. I’ve rarely had problems removing eyeshadow, even when worn with primer. Glittery eyeshadows take a little more effort, but nothing too bad.

Stubborn eyeliner and mascara can be a bit of a pain to remove with this, but anything left behind after my 30 second soak and wipe can usually be cleaned away with my cleanser. A couple of extra swipes doesn’t hurt, though.

It does leave a bit of a greasy feel after use, but I always wash my face after my removing my make-up, so it’s not a big deal.

All in all, the best make-up remover I’ve ever used (In terms of gentleness combined with effectiveness). Plus, since I don’t use it all that often, this bottle (Yes, it’s been almost a year and I haven’t used it up yet…I’ve only used about half) is going to last me a while.

Pros:

  • Travel-friendly
  • Fragrance isn’t too overwhelming
  • Gentle
  • Soothing
  • Removes most (non-waterproof) makeup

Cons:

  • Pricey
  • Not as effective as some make-up removers
  • A little difficult to remove waterproof eyeliner & mascara
  • A bit of a greasy feel

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I re-purchase? Yes.

Gentle and pretty effective…I don’t usually wear waterproof make-up, so this make-up remover is good enough for me. Plus, I love how soothing it feels. I’m glad I listened to that The Body Shop employee, after all!

3 thoughts on “[Review] Camomile Gentle Eye Make-Up Remover

  1. I was almost persuaded into buying this over the weekend by a body shop lady! I didn’t because like you said, it is a bit pricey for something that could just not work. I’m glad you’re happy with it though, I think it may be too greasy for my skin, as I have pretty oily skin anyway 😦 x

    • I actually almost bought another one, but they told me that might be too greasy for me…glad I didn’t! This was still a little greasy, so I don’t even want to imagine “too greasy”…and they have some pretty nice sales sometimes, so maybe just wait until then. 🙂

Leave a Reply

