[Review] TheFaceShop Calming Seed Skin-Resting Cream

Hey everyone! I’m back with another review from my stash of TheFaceShop samples…a little difficult to believe, but I’m almost completely done everything, despite how big the pile looked at first glance.

TheFaceShop_Calming Seed Skin-Resting Cream

Anyhow, this cream apparently moisturizes, soothes sensitive skin instantly, creates “energetic skin” (Whatever that means), protects skin against external stimulation and is free of “synthetic emulsifier, synthetic preservative, artificial fragrance and colors, ethanol, animality (I’m assuming this means animal testing), mineral oil, triethanolamine, benzophenone and talc”. Sounds amazing…but let’s see how much it was actually true.

I actually really like the packaging for the full-size version of this cream. It’s clean and simple, but I love how it’s a pump. It makes it a little more difficult to get all of the product, but I love how convenient and easy to use a pump is.

2014-06-22 21.26.16

I got 5 samples of this, which I put in my trusty TheFaceShop travel cream containers.

The cream is white and has an usual texture. I’m not quite sure how to describe it…it’s on the thin side, but also reminds me of marshmallow or clouds…something of that sort. When I run my fingers over the top of the cream, it just creates a peak in the cream but I don’t actually get any on my finger.

I suppose that’s why the cream is in a pump and not a jar…I found that it could be a little hard to pick up with just your fingers sometimes.

The texture is pretty difficult to describe, though…sorry, guys.

Anyhow, it absorbs pretty quickly, though, and with no residue, which is great. A little goes a pretty long way, too, so you get more uses for your money.

The cream has a really subtle scent that I found a little weird at first but slowly grew to like. It smells fresh and has a hint of ginger in it…really nice. It disappears after you apply it, though, but I like how it’s not only sort of refreshing but also not too overwhelming.

This cream is a great light moisturizing and doesn’t make my skin greasy or oilier. It also helped soothe some of my itchy, dry patches and didn’t aggravate my acne or anything. I’m not sure whether it actually protects against “external stimulation”, but it did make my skin nice and soft.

I think this cream would be a great summer moisturizer, or for people with oily/combination skin (Like me), but I’m not too sure how well it would work for people with really dry skin, especially in the winter. It would be great for anyone with sensitive skin, though.

All in all, this was one sample from TheFaceShop I enjoyed using.

Pros:

  • Nice packaging (For full-size)
  • Absorbs quickly
  • No residue
  • Little goes a long way
  • Clean scent
  • Great light moisturizer
  • Doesn’t make skin greasy or oilier
  • Soothes itchy, dry skin
  • Doesn’t aggravate acne
  • Makes skin soft

 

Cons:

  • Hard to pick up because of texture
  • Might not work well for people with dry skin or during the winter

 

Overall rating: 9.5/10

Would I purchase? Yes.

I’d totally recommend this cream to anyone with sensitive skin or just anyone who was looking for a light moisturizer in general. It’s a nice, simple cream that does what it’s supposed to…moisturize! Another great product from TheFaceShop…I’m glad I got to try this (Though my wallet might soon not be…).

Leave a Reply

