[Review] Lush Charity Pot Luscious Hand and Body Lotion

Hey guys! I’m back with a short review, this time for a lotion.

LUSH-Charity-Pot

While shopping for a Lush loving friend’s birthday present, I stumbled across this little beauty on their website. I couldn’t bring myself to purchase the full-size for almost $23.00, so I just purchased a smaller size for $5.95.

Though a lot of their products are sort of expensive, I love how everything is handmade with fresh ingredients…makes me feel a lot better about using their products.

I’ve heard a lot of good things about Lush lotions, plus this was for a good cause, so I decided to just get this one.

One pot lasted me a pretty long time. I used the small one for about a month, so I can imagine the full-size version lasting me a really long time.

Unfortunately, I neglected to take a picture of this before I threw it out…sorry, guys!

The jar was filled practically to the top, which was great. The lotion is a sort of off-white or light beige sort of colour. Nothing special about it.

The consistency is a little on the thin side, but I found it okay. The container wasn’t exactly travel friendly because of its shape and all, but I only really used this at night, so that didn’t matter to me.

The smell bothered me a little…it was what hit me when I first opened the container, actually. It was described as a “gorgeous, fresh ylang ylang fragrance”, which I thought that I would love. It smelled a little weird to me, like a mix of floral with a touch of cocoa…I didn’t exactly like it. It definitely didn’t make me think of freshly cut flowers, like their website states.

The smell lingers for about an hour, and then you can only smell it if you put your hand up to your nose. Strangely enough, I found the smell almost pleasant by this point…maybe it was just a bit strong for me at first.

Anyhow, this lotion absorbs super fast, and doesn’t leave any sort of stickiness or greasiness, which I loved. It also left my hands really soft, which was nice. The softness lasted into the next day, too, even without re-applying, which I found amazing (Since most creams I’ve tried need to be re-applied a lot).

I mainly used this on my hands, even though you can use this on your body, too. I used it on my legs a few times, but prefer my regular body lotion to this not only because it’s cheaper but also because the smell was a little overwhelming for me if I tried to use this everywhere.

Overall, a great lotion, although it is sort of expensive.

Pros:

  • Handmade with fresh ingredients
  • For a good cause
  • Lasts a long time
  • Absorbs quickly
  • Left skin soft
  • Effect lasts

 

Cons:

  • Expensive
  • Container not travel friendly
  • Overwhelming scent
  • Smell lingers

 

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Probably.

The softness I get from using this cream is enough for me to sort of overlook the overwhelming scent. The price tag, however, is a little harder for me to get past. Yes, it lasts a long time, but it still makes me wince when I think of paying over $20.00 for a jar of cream. At least it’s for a good cause, right?

2 thoughts on “[Review] Lush Charity Pot Luscious Hand and Body Lotion

  1. I do not know if it’s just me or if everybody else encountering problems with
    your site. It appears like some of the written text
    on your posts are running off the screen. Can someone else please provide feedback
    and let me know if this is happening to them too? This could be a problem with my
    browser because I’ve had this happen previously.
    Kudos

    • Really? I can’t see that on my browser, but that might be because it’s my blog.
      Can anybody else tell me if this is happening to them as well?
      Thanks for letting me know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

