[Review] The Saem On The Blackhead Volcanic Sulfur Nose Sheet

Hey everyone! I’m back with another review, this time for a pore strip. As some of you may know, I’m pretty picky with my pore strips. It has to work noticeably better than my Bioré strips for me to even consider purchasing them (Since pretty much all of the ones that I try cost more and/or need to be shipped from other countries to me). So…let’s see whether this was up to par, shall we?

2014-08-03 19.49.52

I saw these on sale for less than $4.00 for a box of 8 (Shipping included, so $0.50 per strip). Sounds great, right? And, since I was out of pore strips at the time, I decided to go ahead and get them. I was looking to try new pore strips, and these were just too good of a deal to pass up.

2014-08-03 19.50.01

The 8 strips are just in a cardboard box with pretty simple graphics. The packaging for the individual strips is identical to the box, and is the shape of a typical pore strip.

The fit of these are pretty good. Not too big, or too small. They’re a little sticky on the back, although you still need water to make sure it really sticks to your skin. They do adhere really well, though (Maybe it’s the added effect of the glue or whatever is on the back already?). As with all my pore strips, I like to use these after a shower so my pores are open. I find that they’re more effective that way.

Anyways, these have a slightly medicinal smell. I’m guessing that’s because of the volcanic sulfur or whatever is in these strips that’s supposed to make them effective.

As with all pore strips, I leave this on for about 15 minutes, when it’s fully dry and then peel them off and prepare to be satisfyingly grossed out.

However, I was very disappointed by this pore strip. At best, there are a few blackheads on the sheet along with some other gunk. At worst…absolutely nothing. Yep, there have been times when the pore strip comes off perfectly clean, which is super disappointing. Usually, it just comes off with some sebum on it, but few or no blackheads.

Unlike pretty much every other pore strip I’ve ever used, this rarely leaves my nose area feeling soft. Rather, I can still feel all the different blackheads and gunk still in my pores, and it annoys me to no end.

I know better than to use a second one in the same day, or even the same week (I use pore strips about once a month), so it’s pretty frustrating when the pore strips come off with nothing on them.

There is some good news, though…these don’t hurt at all to pull off. But, sometimes, the sticky side of the pore strips seems to dissolve or something and I get chunks stuck on my nose. Not just residue, but actual chunks of the sticky gunk of the pore strip.

I suppose this is another “you get what you pay for” moment.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Good fit
  • Secure
  • Don’t hurt to peel off

 

Cons:

  • Slightly medicinal smell
  • Not effective
  • Sometimes leave chunks behind

 

Overall rating: 3/10

Would I repurchase? No.

If you have only a few blackheads and don’t really care about whether pore strips really work, then these might be a nice, cheap option. However, I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone, even someone in that situation (Because, really…if you pay for something, don’t you want it to at least do what you paid for it to do?). Well, it looks like my search for the perfect pore strips continues…

3 thoughts on “[Review] The Saem On The Blackhead Volcanic Sulfur Nose Sheet

  1. oh well… that’s too bad! 😦 but the search for holy grail beauty products is often a long and arduous one 😉 at least the packaging is cute ❤ btw, you might also love the glamglow supermud mask if you're looking for something super exfoliating
    thesartorialcoquette.com

    • That’s very true…well, at least the cardboard box is not only pretty cute but also sturdy enough to use as storage for other pore strips!
      And exfoliating products are always nice…I’ll check that out. Thanks! 🙂

  2. Pingback: [Review] TheFaceShop Blackhead Out Aloe Nose Strip | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

