[Review] Etude House Surprise Make Up Master Concealer Brush

Hey everyone! This isn’t one of my usual beauty product reviews…more like a beauty tool review. But one that I still hope you guys will enjoy, anyways!

2014-06-30 13.23.25

Before this, I hadn’t even been aware that something like this existed. I knew concealer brushes existed, but not a double-ended one like this. I was curious, and it only cost me ~$5.00, so I figured, why not?

The packaging is pretty simple, and the brush is the trademark Etude House pink with the brand written in nice white letters. Relatively plain compared to their other packaging, but functional enough that I’m fine with it. Plus, the brush is pretty cute.

2013-12-15 12.34.08

This brush was a lot smaller than I originally thought that it would be. It’s only around the length of my index finger. It’s really easy to use, though and even easier to carry around because of its small size.

To use this, you basically dab the sponge end on the concealer and then on the spot you want to conceal, and then blend it with the brush.

2014-06-30 13.23.33

(By the way, it’s not that dark-looking in real life. It’s just the shadow…sorry!)

The sponge end absorbs a little bit of the product, which isn’t all that great. However, this is much more sanitary than dabbing the concealer directly on skin or with your finger. This is great when you want to be really precise, and can even be used to cover larger areas (Such as dark under eye circles). Just dab around the area and then blend.

2014-06-30 13.23.43

The bristles on the brush are nice and soft, and do a great job of blending the concealer in seamlessly. Much easier to use and much more natural than just using my fingers to do it. Not as fast, though.

The brush needs to be cleaned often, which is a little annoying, and the sponge end ends up the colour of the concealer (As you can see).

I don’t use this brush every day because I don’t want to have to clean it all the time, plus I want to do my makeup quickly in the morning. I only use this brush when I want my makeup to be extra nice, such as at a formal event.

A nice purchase, and definitely something I’m happy that I added to my brush arsenal, though.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Convenient
  • Sanitary
  • Precise
  • Soft bristles
  • Blends seamlessly

Cons:

  • Plain packaging
  • Sponge absorbs some product
  • Takes time to apply with brush
  • Needs to be cleaned often

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase this? Yes.

I don’t see myself having to replace this brush for a while, but I would if I had to. This is a great little beauty tool that just makes getting that natural-looking, flawless skin that much easier. Plus, with its tiny size, it’s great to carry around for touch-ups, and the plastic packaging it comes in is great storage in itself. If you don’t have a concealer brush yet, maybe consider getting one…it’s a great beauty tool to have at your dispense.

Leave a Reply

