[Review] CoverGirl Eye Enhancers 1-Kit Shadows

Hey everyone! Another eyeshadow review. In my last eyeshadow review, I mentioned that I used a darker brown from a different company for my natural eye looks. Well, this is the shadow I was talking about.

At only about $4.00 per shadow (Even cheaper than the ones from TheFaceShop!), and with decent reviews, I decided to get this eyeshadow. For such a low price, even if it wasn’t a superb shadow, I still wouldn’t feel too bad about it.

2014-06-30 13.21.04

Anyways, I got this in 740 (“Brown Smolder”), which is a nice, deep chocolate brown sort of colour. I originally wanted to get a shadow that was matte, but that was much more difficult than I thought it would be (A lot of the ones I considered had bad reviews), so I settled on this one, with its barely there shimmer.

2014-06-30 13.21.44

This shadow is another one that looks matte, but the shimmer becomes obvious once it’s held up in bright light. It’s not too bad, though.

The packaging is pretty plain and looks sort of cheap (You get what you pay for!), and I can imagine the plastic cover cracking if I happened to drop it, but it’s fine otherwise. I’m not a big fan of the applicator that comes with it, but I suppose it’s pretty good for on-the-go touch-ups (Although I never take my eyeshadow with me for touchups, so the applicator is pretty much useless to me). I prefer use my own eyeshadow brush instead.

The pigmentation of this eyeshadow was pretty surprising. Below is a swatch of the eyeshadow. The colour is even more intense when applied wet, which is great. When applied dry, it only takes 1 or two swipes to get the colour that you see in the palette (The picture below is only 1 swipe, dry, no primer).

2014-06-30 13.22.22

There’s no fall-out or anything with this shadow. It’s just a nice formula that goes on smooth and blends like an absolute dream.

The colour lasts pretty much all day, even without primer, which I just love. Plus, it comes off easily with just a little bit of eye remover, so this is definitely a pretty hassle-free shadow.

All in all, this is an amazing little drugstore gem.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Pigmented
  • Smooth application
  • Blends well
  • No fall-out
  • Long-lasting

Cons:

  • Not matte
  • Plain, cheap case
  • Applicator pretty much useless

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

None of the shades I want are matte, and I don’t like the packaging or applicator, but, other than that, this is a great shadow. They have a pretty good shade selection, so I might try a different colour next time. These are pretty cheap, too, so it’s tempting to try out different looks. I would definitely recommend these, though, since they’re cheap and well formulated. My search for a nice matte shadow hasn’t ended yet, but at least I’ve found a great little drugstore eyeshadow!

Leave a Reply

