[Review] Holika Holika Medi-Medi Acetyl Skin Clearing Wash-Off Mask

Hey guys! Sorry for being MIA lately. A few things came up, and I was so busy trying to deal with it all that I didn’t have much time for reviews. But I’m back, so enjoy this review!

2014-06-10 18.35.15

I got this mask during my Pacific Mall mini-haul a little while back, and I’ve used it quite a few times now, so I thought it’d be the perfect time to review it. I’ve been wanting to try this mask for a while now, since I’ve read so many reviews about how it’s pretty good for treating breakouts.

It was $15.00, which was a little pricey for me, but I decided to bite the bullet and get it anyways because I really wanted to try it. I just couldn’t resist when I saw that they had it in the store.

2014-06-10 18.35.42

Isn’t the packaging for this just so nice? It’s clean, simple and totally appropriate for this line, but it has a touch of cute, too. It’s easy to use and I love it. Unfortunately, it doesn’t come with a spatula, so you have to make sure to wash your hands before using this mask.

The jar’s also pretty sturdy, so no worries about dropping it or anything. The cap’s nice and secure, too. Best of all, I can definitely see myself saving this jar for future use for…who knows what. It’s cute and well-made, so why not?

2014-06-10 18.35.55

It has a little separator inside the jar, which is packed quite full with product. I scraped all the product off of the separator and then threw it out, because it didn’t do much and I found it a little annoying. It stuck to the product and was pretty flimsy, and, with my clumsiness, seemed likely it would fall out of the jar soon.

Anyways, the mask itself it a light pink with a bit of a wet clay feel. It has a little bit of a medicated smell while it also seems that they tried to cover that up, but it doesn’t bother me all that much. It’s pretty much a clay mask, and dries that way, too (As you can see from the picture below).

2014-06-10 18.36.26

The texture makes it pretty easy to spread around and get an even layer on your face, though. It may be messy, but it’s nice to work with.

It’s a little messy to use since the mask gets all over my fingers and in my nails and such. I always wash my hands before screwing the cap on because I don’t want to get the mask onto the jar.

I usually leave it on for about 20 minutes, and it’s more than dry enough by then. It washes off pretty easily, which is nice.

I was a little skeptical because I’ve used so many acne products and such on my face that not much works for me anymore. However, I was pleasantly surprised by this mask.

It didn’t work miracles, mind you (Not that I expected it to). But I noticed that my pimples did seem less red, and long-term use of this mask has helped clear up my breakouts more easily. They’re not as bad as before, either.

This mask is a little drying, though (As most acne treatments are), so you definitely has to moisturize after using it. This is especially important to take note of, especially for people with dry skin or who, like me, have dry patches.

In the end, this mask was a great purchase.

Pros:

  • Nice, sturdy packaging
  • Lots of product
  • Nice texture
  • Pimples less red
  • Helped with breakouts with long-term use

 

Cons:

  • Pricey
  • No spatula
  • Messy
  • Drying

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Definitely.

This mask may not be the answer to all your prayers, but it’s definitely great in the long-term. I’ve found that this was a great addition to my skincare routine, and one that I would happily continue using. For anyone still on the fence about this mask, I suggest you give it a try. And if you haven’t considered it, maybe you should!

3 thoughts on “[Review] Holika Holika Medi-Medi Acetyl Skin Clearing Wash-Off Mask

  1. Pingback: [Review] Holika Holika Tea Café Mask Sheet (Rosy Peach Tea) | delicatedesire

  2. Pingback: The 15 Most Economical Products I’ve Ever Used | delicatedesire

  3. Pingback: [Review] Innisfree Jeju Volcanic Clay Mousse Mask (Original) | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

