You Might Want To Think Twice Before Rubbing That Citrus On Your Skin…

These days, citrus seems to be the star of DIY skincare. Everyone’s trying it, and who wouldn’t? They provide an instant glow, exfoliate, kill bacteria, help treat dark spots and blemishes and even have anti-aging benefits.

orange_slices_stacked(2)

But, as always, we have to be careful with what we put on our skin. It’s natural and the benefits sound great, but what about the side effects?

As with putting cinnamon on your skin, there are quite a few people who experienced a burn when they put citrus on their skin and are left with red, irritated skin. Now, that doesn’t sound too good, does it?

That’s not my biggest concern, though.

My biggest concern is how it affects the skin’s reaction to being in the sun. And, with the blazing summer heat now, that is definitely a reasonable concern.

In case you haven’t heard yet, citrus fruits can cause your skin to be more sensitive to the sun. Compared to the benefits, this may not sound like a big problem when you weigh it with the supposed benefits, but let me explain a little further.

You may end up getting citrus burns…or even 2nd degree burns. There are cautionary tales about being careful even while just sipping lemonade or cocktails out in the sun because of this, so I’m a little worried about slathering this all over my face.

Yes, there are worse things out there than citrus for your skin and some sunscreen might solve the problem, but I’m just putting it out there as a warning.

Myself? I’ve tried to use lemon juice on my face before to treat my blemishes. I experienced some burning, and it wasn’t pleasant. I can’t even imagine getting a 2nd degree burn from it, or even ending up with red and irritated skin.

So, I’m not saying to totally abandon all those DIYs you’ve been eyeing. I’m just reminding you to, as always, proceed with caution when it comes to your skin.

2 thoughts on “You Might Want To Think Twice Before Rubbing That Citrus On Your Skin…

  1. I LOVE THAT SOMEONE HAS FINALLY DONE A POST ON THIS! yes i am excited about it 😛 Please check out my blog, particularly my skin bible series. I am super dooper proud of it and it goes into the science behind your skin products so you really understand why you use them. I have designed it to take you on a complete journey from start to finish of your basic routine. Follow and i will be forever thankful xx

Leave a Reply

