[Review] Aussie Instant Freeze Hairspray

I’ve done a lot of reviews of makeup and products for your face, but let’s not forget about our hair! Here’s a short review on a hairspray I recently got. Enjoy!

2014-05-31 21.50.08

I got this hairspray on sale for $2.99, which is a pretty good price. Plus, it sounded pretty promising…although, as well all know, it’s probably not a good idea to put too much faith in a product’s claim.

This products claims to basically instantly freeze your style and make it last longer.

I think I may have gotten a faulty bottle or something, because the first few times I tried this, it didn’t spray. Just sort of drizzled out of the bottle, which was a little gross. Even now, it sort of half sprays, half drizzles. I can’t tell if I got a faulty bottle or if it’s just some short of problem with the nozzle design.

Anyways, it’s pretty light and doesn’t weigh down your hair, but it does have that overwhelming hairspray smell. Ugh (One reason I don’t use hairspray much). On the upside, though, it doesn’t leave residue of any kind. It also doesn’t dull hair, but it doesn’t add any extra shine, either.

Once it’s set, hair gets pretty crunchy and hard, but the style doesn’t budge. So it basically does freeze your style. Which is great, right?

Well…does it make it last longer?

Unfortunately, not really. My hairstyle fell flat by the 3 hour mark. The style itself held, but the volume did not.

By the end of the day, my hair was basically just crunchy but the style was almost completely undone. There was no frizziness or flyaways, though, and the style hadn’t completely undone itself yet, so I still looked decent.

Also, my hair is the type where, no matter how you curl it, it falls straight again within the hour. This hairspray extended that to about 3 hours. Better than my last hairspray, I suppose, but still not great.

At least I got it on sale.

Pros:

  • Light
  • No residue
  • Instantly freezes style
  • No frizzy or flyaway hair throughout day
  • Makes your style last longer

 

Cons:

  • Faulty nozzle(?)
  • Overwhelming, very typical, hairspray smell
  • Style falls flat within hours
  • Doesn’t hold all day

 

Overall rating: 6/10

Would I repurchase? I don’t think so.

If I as in a pinch and this was the only hairspray on sale, then maybe. But this bottle will probably last me a pretty long time, assuming I don’t get annoyed with the faulty nozzle and toss it halfway through. I want to find a hairspray that holds better than this one, though I can never seem to find one. Perhaps my hair was just never meant to be anything but stick straight and flat.

One thought on “[Review] Aussie Instant Freeze Hairspray

  1. Pingback: [Review] Dove Extra Hold Hairspray | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

