[Review] TheFaceShop Acne Solution Foam Cleansing

A nice, short little review on a sample I got from TheFaceShop a while back. Enjoy!

2014-06-30 13.16.19

This cleanser by TheFaceShop is a “new and improved, Green tea treats oily or problem skin more quickly and effectively”. So, basically, it treats oily acne-prone skin, is what I’m seeing.

Now…I have a love-hate relationship with acne cleansers. The fact that they apparently help treat acne sounds awesome, and it’s even better when it works. However, they tend to be really drying, because most of them have salicylic acid in them (Which also makes your skin more sun-sensitive, by the way!). The fact that the main ingredient of this one was green tea, which made me a little happy, because I was hoping it wouldn’t be as drying.

This is your typical foam cleanser. It has a subtle scent and a little goes a long way. About a pea-sized amount is enough for my entire face.

This cleanser is pretty gentle, and not at all drying, which was great.

Unfortunately, it also doesn’t clean as thoroughly as I’d like. It does a decent job, but it’s basically useless if you’re planning on removing make-up of any kind.

This little sample was actually enough for me to use for about a week. Unfortunately, I saw no improvement in my acne. At all. There just wasn’t improvement in my skin in general.

So…this was basically just a decent foam cleanser. Nothing special about it.

Pros:

  • Subtle scent
  • Little goes a long way
  • Gentle
  • Not drying

 

Cons:

  • Clean isn’t very thorough
  • Doesn’t remove make-up of any sort
  • No improvement in skin

 

Overall rating: 6/10

Would I purchase? I don’t think so.

There are a lot of foam cleansers out there, so I don’t think I would buy this one. Especially when the one thing that is it’s selling point (Helping treat acne) doesn’t work. At least, not for me. But, like I’ve mentioned before, I’ve put all sorts of chemicals on my skin to treat acne, so gentle things don’t usually work for me anymore. I was glad I got a chance to try this, though. This plus my past experience with their spot patches hasn’t really worked out for me, so I’m probably not going to try anything else from this line. This means I can look towards other products, and my wallet will thank me for not wasting money on products that don’t work for me.

Leave a Reply

