[Review] TheFaceShop Face It Skinny Fit Gloss

Hey everyone! I’m back for another review. I think I’ve finally got things under control (Sort of), so let’s give this a shot!

TheFaceShop_Face It_Skinny Fit Gloss

This review is actually months overdue…I suppose it was just something (A little sample I got) that I used, decided I never wanted to use again, and then forgot about it.

Now…why did I decide I never wanted to use it again? Well, you’ll know shortly.

2013-12-15 12.32.46

When I first got this gloss, I thought I got the red one because of the image on the packet as well as the fact that it looked red when I squeezed it out (And even in the picture below). HOWEVER, in brighter lighting it looked orange. It also looked orange on both my lips and fingers…but it definitely doesn’t look like the orange one shown in the picture of the actual product. Oh well…I’ll just assume it was orange (Since that’s how it looked when I applied it).

2014-06-30 13.17.41

Since using it straight out of the foil packet probably wouldn’t been awkward and messy, I transferred it into the little apple from my Baviphat mask sample.

Anyhow, though this looks scarily bright at first glance (Sort of like liquid lipstick), I can assure you it is definitely not that scary. I was relieved, since orange sort of intimidates me.

It’s quite sheer, but also pretty buildable. This basically warms up whatever colour is underneath in a very pretty, summery way. I loved pairing this with a red tint because it just looked so pretty.

It looked glossy, but not too overdone (I hate that) and it wasn’t really sticky, which was nice. It had a pretty good wear time, about 4 hours, too.

Plus, it didn’t dry lips out. It didn’t moisturize them, but it didn’t dry them out either. using this on really dry lips was a little awkward, though, because it didn’t apply quite evenly.

Though I only got a sample, the packaging is pretty nice, as well. It’s a nice little flat package that you squeeze to get the product out. Slim and easy to carry around.

So…why am I never using it?

Well, for starters, it feels tacky and a bit thick…it’s not too comfortable to wear. It’s not exactly sticky…just…goopy, maybe?

Secondly, and this was definitely the deal breaker for me (And I assume it would’ve been for anyone else who was in the same situation), it gave me an allergic reaction.

On my lips.

I had NEVER had that happen to me with any lip product (And trust me, I’ve used some pretty cheap brands of products and a LOT of different products), and it took a few days to manifest, so I didn’t really realize it at first. You can bet that once I did, though, I immediately trashed the rest. And, lo and behold, after a few days of non-use, the reaction went away and never came back.

So…that’s the end of this product for me.

Pros:

  • Sheer and buildable colour
  • Warms up colours
  • Nice glossy look
  • Not sticky
  • Good wear time
  • Doesn’t dry lips out
  • Nice packaging

 

Cons:

  • Doesn’t look very good on dry, cracked/flaky lips
  • Thick consistency
  • Allergic reaction

 

Overall rating: 4/10

Would I purchase? Definitely not.

I’m definitely a little wary of TheFaceShop glosses now, but that doesn’t mean that this wasn’t a decent product. Had I not reacted badly to this, I might have even considered buying it (For a good price, that is). Unfortunately, that wasn’t the case. Of course, this doesn’t mean that you shouldn’t try it. It was a decent gloss, and reactions such as mine seem to pretty rare. Well…at least this was a free sample.

Leave a Reply

