[Review] Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Xtreme Wear Nail Color

Hey everyone! Today I’m reviewing a polish that I got pretty recently, but felt that I just had to review it because I just loved it so much.

2014-06-27 14.00.54

I got this in the colour “Blue Me Away!” (#130, as you can see in the picture below), which is a gorgeous deep blue colour, with a very cute name. I was going to a formal event, and needed a blue that matched my dress, and this one was pretty close, so I got it.

2014-06-27 14.01.10

One of the reasons I got this polish was because I generally like natural colours more and wasn’t quite sure whether or not I would wear a colour as bright as this on a regular basis and this was cheap, just under $3.00, so I figured, what the heck, I might only wear this polish once, and bought it.

2014-06-27 14.02.26

The brush for this polish is pretty standard. Nothing special, but functional and easy to use, which is all that really matters. It is a little on the thin side, though. I like brushes such as the ones on the Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure more, but this isn’t too bad.

The minute I applied this polish, I fell in love. The formula for this polish is absolutely wonderful.

Not only does it apply wonderfully even, it doesn’t streak or anything. Plus, it isn’t too thick, goopy or runny. It’s a great consistency. And I haven’t even gotten to the best part yet.

2014-06-27 14.00.12

You see that picture of my finished nails above (Which, just as a note, was taken under my lamp light)? Try and guess how many coats that took.

One. Yep, you read that right. This was opaque in just one coat. Only my pinkie has two coats, but that was only because I accidentally smudged it while it was half-dry.

It dries smooth, even and looks the same colour as it does in the bottle.

2014-06-27 14.02.59

There are a few bubbles, as you can see in the above picture (Taken in natural light, this time), but that’s because I applied this polish in a rush and wasn’t careful. But it still looks pretty good, and the bubbles are barely noticeable with a coat of glitter and top coat on top of it.

This is dry to the touch in a little under 15 minutes, which is pretty average. What you see in the above picture is the polish without top coat. It looks pretty glossy on its own, right? But, believe it or not, this picture was taken over 24 hours after I applied it. In that time, I washed my hair, cooked and did all kinds of things. And it didn’t chip or anything.

I put top coat on it and it didn’t chip for a week. Even after 2 weeks, my manicure still looks pretty good. There’s some chipping, but it’s not too bad. Pretty good wear time, huh?

All in all, another win for Sally Hansen.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Brush is easy to use
  • Opaque in one coat
  • Applies like a dream
  • Good consistency
  • Looks the same colour as it does in the bottle
  • Dries smooth and even
  • Great wear time

 

Cons:

  • Brush a little on the thin side

 

Overall rating: 10/10

Would I repurchase? Definitely!

Despite my earlier hesitation about bright colours, I’m extremely happy that I got this polish and will definitely wear it again. And again. And again. I’m also looking forward to trying out some of the other colours in this line…and there are quite a lot available. I absolutely love not only the formula, but the colour. It’s even lovelier in real life than in the pictures. Sally Hansen has proved once again why it is my favourite nail polish brand.

Leave a Reply

