[Review] Etude House Precious Mineral BB Cream Cotton Fit

Hey everyone! Another sample review for you guys! As some of you might already know, Etude House and I (unfortunately) don’t seem to get along all that well. Which is a shame because I am in love with the packaging for half of their products (Even the packaging for this sample was pretty and oh-so cute). This is why, though, I was a little hesitant to try this BB cream out. After a skin test showed no allergic reaction, I decided to try this out. Let’s see how it went, shall we?

2014-06-02 00.16.59

First things first, this BB cream smells sort of like baby powder. I don’t mind it, but the smell lingers, which doesn’t make me too happy. It fades after about half an hour to an hour, so it isn’t too bad. I’d rather not have to walk around smelling like baby powder, though.

This BB cream claims to be SPF30 and have whitening and anti-aging properties. This sounds great, but I find it difficult to really prove the anti-aging properties. It would be quite a while off before I could even begin to guess whether that’s actually true, so I’m just going to skip over that claim. One sample packet is also only enough for about 3 uses, so I don’t think I can confidently comment on the whitening claim, either.

If you really must know, though, there was no difference in the brightness of my skin or the darkness of my pigmentation spots in the short 3 day duration when I was using this BB cream that I can actually safely attribute to this BB cream.

Moving on, the coverage of this BB cream is one of the best I’ve ever tried, though. It’s medium to full (Falling more on the medium side, though), and pretty buildable. For darker acne scars or angry, red pimples, this might not fully cover them, but it still has pretty good coverage.

The shade I got in this sample was about 2 shades too light for me, though (Or maybe it was just combined with my makeup base, but this hasn’t happened with other BB creams before). So I was dangerously close to looking deathly pale, or like a ghost of some sort. Luckily, I was only going out for a few hours and I was going to a performance, so it was going to be dark anyways. In bright sunlight, though, it would have been glaringly obvious I was wearing makeup. Especially since the paleness of my face would’ve been starkly contrasted with my collarbone, 2 shades darker.

The next 2 days I wore this, it was inside, so it wasn’t too bad.

Unfortunately, after a check online, I don’t think any of the shades really fit me. This first one is too light (The one I tried), and that second one looks too dark (And I’m not about to order it from halfway across the world only to find out that I was right). One thing I don’t like about Korean BB creams and such is that they usually have a pretty small colour range.

If I get tanned at all during the summer, this would pretty much be unusable.

Unlike many other BB creams, this didn’t dry to a really dewy finish. I’d say that it was more of a semi-matte finish. A little bit of a sort of glowiness, but not actual dewiness. It feels pretty velvety, too, which is nice.

The cotton fit version is apparently for people with combination or oily skin, so I thought that this would be perfect for me. It didn’t really control oil, despite feeling velvety after application. Unfortunately, this seems to dry out the dry patches of my skin. In addition, it actually accents my dry patches, too. It wasn’t too bad, though, since it was warm when I wore this, but I imagine the dryness would be magnified come winter (And more noticeable, too).

The wear time was pretty good. I once put this on at 8 in the morning, came home at 9 at night. Even through sweat and oil (And a blotting sheet), the coverage was still decent. It had faded, of course, but still looked okay.

All in all, far from being my worst experience with an Etude House product. Maybe we’re finally starting to make peace with eachother.

Pros:

  • SPF30 and other benefits
  • Buildable, medium to full coverage
  • Semi-matte, velvety finish
  • Good wear time

 

Cons:

  • Baby powder smell lingers
  • Not many shades to choose from
  • Doesn’t control oil
  • Dries out drier parts of skin
  • Highlights dry patches

 

Overall rating: 6.5/10

Would I purchase? Probably not.

Unfortunately, another Etude House item I wouldn’t buy. This product wasn’t actually too bad, but the whole looking a few shades short of vampire pale (And I imagine the darker shade would make me look sort of fake tanned) and highlighting my dry patches while simultaneously making them worse is enough to turn me off of this product. For somebody with lighter (Or darker) skin and no dry patches, I suggest you give this a try, though. The product is pretty decent and the coverage is great.

Leave a Reply

