[Review] TonyMoly The Oriental Gyeol Cream

Hey everyone! Another sample review! I promise there will be more reviews on full-size products soon, but I’ve had so many samples that I’ve had to use up lately that I might as well get those out of the way first. Plus, it gives me more time to test out my full-sizes!

TonyMoly_The Oriental Gyeol_Cream

This review is pretty short, but I thought I should write it, anyways.

2014-06-18 18.48.15

Anyways, this is a sample that I got with my RoseRoseShop order a little while ago. I found the sample packaging very pretty, and the real packaging elegant and classy, especially with those blossoms on it.

This cream makes many claims. It “refreshes and clarifies skin during the day”, “penetrates the skin immediately upon application”, has “deer antler collagen water” (I have no idea what that’s supposed to mean or what it’s supposed to do…so I just assumed that it does what regular collagen does), “sinks into skin almost instantly [and] hydrates without your face feeling [greasy]” and is “paraben free, talc free, mineral oil free, artificial pigment free, surfactant free”.

Wow…a lot to take in, huh? But, the real question is: How many of these claims are actually true?

2014-06-18 18.50.28

This cream is definitely on the watery side. It sort of feels more like an emulsion than a cream to me (Sorry for the picture…really bad lighting plus a so-so camera…). It smells pretty perfumed, but the smell disappears after you apply it. In the really bad picture I took, the cream sort of looks light beige or something. It is, in fact, white. Again…really bad lighting plus a so-so camera. It just makes for a not-so-great picture.

it’s true that your face doesn’t feel greasy afterwards, but it leaves behind a sort of film. It surprised me a little because I expected this cream to absorb really quickly, since it was so watery. After a little bit, it’s gone, but it doesn’t absorb ‘almost instantly’.

Now…I should probably tell you that I only used this cream for 2 days. Let me explain why, though.

The first day after using this cream, I noticed a few new pimples. I tried to give it the benefit of doubt, though, and used it for another day. When my breakout got worse, I immediately stopped using this cream. Then, my skin got better.

It also made my skin oilier throughout the day, even when I used powder over it. So that wasn’t great, either.

So, that’s why I stopped using it so quickly.

Other than that, I didn’t notice much of a difference. But, then again, I did only use it for 2 days.

Pros:

  • Elegant and classy packaging
  • Doesn’t leave skin greasy

 

Cons:

  • Leaves behind a film
  • Caused a break out
  • Made skin oily

 

Overall rating: 1/10

Would I purchase? No.

I usually love TonyMoly products, but this one was a letdown. It wasn’t meant for my age demographic, though, so I guess this most likely wasn’t formulated with my skin type in mind. Anyhow, that’s another sample down. Just a bunch more to go…

Leave a Reply

