[Review] Spectro Jel Cleanser for Blemish Prone Skin

I don’t really do many cleanser reviews (Because cleansers usually last me a pretty long time, so it’s not like I can try out a lot in a short amount of time or anything), but I thought I’d just add another one on here for you guys. I just finished by 3rd bottle of this, so I think this product is more than ready for a review.

spectro

This was recommended to me by someone as a gentle cleanser that would be good for acne prone skin (I was breaking out like crazy at the time and didn’t know what to do). One bottle lasts almost half a year, but it’s about $13.00 per bottle, which does make my wallet cringe slightly.

This gel cleanser is supposed to be non-irritating and apparently “deeps cleans while protecting skin’s natural moisture”.

2014-05-31 21.58.22

As you can see from the above picture, it’s basically just a clear gel cleanser. It says to massage for 30 seconds before cleaning it off, but I always do 1 full minute. I do that for all of my cleansers, though, so I guess it’s just a habit.

On the bottle, it says that it’s ‘lightly scented’. The scent of this product actually sort of bothers me. It smells pretty medicated, with a touch of artificial. Sort of like somebody thought it smelled too much like a hospital or something and then tried to cover that up with some perfume, but wasn’t quite successful.

This cleanser doesn’t really feels like it’s doing anything. It gets skin pretty clean, without drying it out at all, though, which is good. If you have on a light coat of BB or CC cream or even foundation, it will *almost* take it all off. But not quite, so I suggest you use a makeup remover before using this cleanser.

It removes oil from my face, but doesn’t actually help any with my oily skin. But at least it doesn’t irritate my dry skin.

Now, this cleanser claims to be for blemish prone skin, but does it actually help with acne? I’m sorry to say that it doesn’t really help at all. I think I would’ve noticed during my almost 2 years of using this cleanser (I use other exfoliators and samples and such in between, so it lasts longer) if it did anything. It wasn’t until after almost a year when I finally figured out the right skincare routine for me that my acne started clearing up, but that’s a totally different story.

On the bright side, this never made my breakouts worse.

So, in the end, this cleanser does its job. It cleanses. Doesn’t do much else, though.

Pros:

  • Thorough cleanse
  • Gentle
  • Not drying
  • No adverse effects

 

Cons:

  • Expensive for a drugstore cleanser
  • Unpleasant, medicated scent
  • Doesn’t help with acne

 

Overall rating: 7.5/10

Would I repurchase? Probably not.

I think my days of using this cleanser are effectively over. If I accidentally mess up with my skin with a new cleanser, I may buy a small bottle of this to give my skin a break, but, otherwise, I probably wouldn’t buy it again. It would be great for sensitive skin and pretty much any skin type, but I find it a bit too pricey, considering it doesn’t do much other than cleanse. I’m sure there are other gentle cleansers out there for less.

One thought on “[Review] Spectro Jel Cleanser for Blemish Prone Skin

  1. Pingback: [Review] Lancôme Tonique Douceur | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

