[Review] Lancôme Tonique Douceur

Since I just did a drugstore cleanser (Albeit one that was on the pricey side…) review earlier, I thought that I’d throw in a luxury brand toner review, as well. Enjoy!

As some of you loyal readers may know, Lancôme is a brand that I absolutely love, but my wallet definitely doesn’t. But I can’t help it..sometimes, a girl has to splurge.

2014-05-31 21.57.12

Anyhow, this is a toner that I used for a really, really long time. I feel like a review for it is long overdue, so I’m here now.

This toner claims to be “soothing and cooling” and is an “alcohol-free, pH balanced freshener [that] gentle tones and refines skin without drying or depleting natural oils. Formulated with skin-softening distilled flower-water, this ultra-refreshing formula gives skin a cool, hydrated feeling, [leaving] skin perfectly clean, soft and supple. Skin [will feel] completely comfortable and refreshed”. If it really did that, this would definitely be HG material.

For a whopping $51.00 (For 400 mL), I really hoped that it would surpass my then current HG toner.

Yes, this price is…high, to put it simply. BUT, as with most Lancôme products, a bottle seems to literally last forever. Seriously. One 400 mL bottle lasts me a year or so.

The toner is a blue liquid and it comes in a big bottle with the trademark Lancôme rose on it. The packaging is simple, yet also classy and somewhat elegant.

Since the bottle is so big, and a little awkward to handle, I actually like to transfer this into a smaller bottle and then use that.

2014-05-31 21.57.20

A little goes a long way with this. I just hold a cotton pad over the opening, turn it upside down and then flip it back right-side up right away. As you can see from the above picture, I still have quite a bit of product left. And I bought this a little over half a year ago (Back when they were giving out a nice gift set with each purchase!).

My skin immediately feels refreshed and cool (Especially nice during those hot summer days, even better after a workout), but this doesn’t make my skin feel dry at all. It cleans off any additional makeup or grime off of my face and doesn’t leave any kind of residue on it.

The smell is subtle, but still identifiably that artificial perfume that apparently every company has an unlimited supply of. Seriously, where is everyone getting all of this generic perfume scent? I feel like they add that stuff to everything, too.

Anyhow, after a few days, I noticed that my skin was softer and smoother than before. Which made me feel a little less guilty for splurging so much on just one bottle (Even one this big) of toner.

I found that this toner was perfect for my combination skin. It wasn’t too drying for my dry patches, but also just right for my oily t-zone. My t-zone felt clean, but not stripped of all oils or moisture.

After I had used this for a while, I noticed that my skin actually looked quite a bit nicer. It looked more radiant, felt softer and was just in an overall better condition.

And, in case you were still wondering, I experienced no negative effects while using this toner. It didn’t make me breakout, and I didn’t have any kind of allergic reaction to it. Unlike some toners, it also never made my skin (Not even my dry patches) feel dry, tight or itchy. So that’s another plus.

I don’t know what magic Lancôme works, but their products just seem to work for me.

Pros:

  • Alcohol-free
  • Lasts a really long time
  • A little goes a long way
  • Skin feels immediately refreshed and cool
  • Not drying
  • Makes skin feel smoother, softer and more radiant

 

Cons:

  • Expensive
  • Bottle is big and awkward
  • Smells artificially perfumed

 

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

I can never seem to bring myself to give a full 10/10 for Lancôme products because they’re just so expensive…doesn’t mean I don’t love this product, though. Yes, it’s $51.00 for a bottle of toner, but it’s, simply put, sort of a small miracle in a big bottle. There are probably a lot of skeptics (Yes, I did wonder whether it was worth $51.00, too), and it may not work well for everyone, but it’s certainly worked out for me. If you want to give this a try, I suggest you wait until Lancôme offers this as a sample with a purchase. That’s how I discover most of my Lancôme favourites!

Leave a Reply

