[Review] TheFaceShop Mango Seed Heart Volume Butter

Another sample checked off the (long) list of ‘Things I Have To Review’. Enjoy!

2014-06-04 21.36.46

This is a cream that I’ve been curious about for a while, but one of those things that I would probably never actually buy. You see, I have oily skin so something about creams like this scare me a little. When I saw the word ‘butter’, I was even more reluctant to purchase it. I thought, “My skin’s already oily enough. I don’t need to put butter on it.” When I got a sample of this, though, I was actually pretty happy, because it was sort of like a no-risk way of trying it out.

This cream claims to have “mango seed that fills moisture inside skin and heart seed that offers resilience create volume skin. While creating moisture coating veil, protects skin against dryness to remain moisturizing feeling for hours. GMO free.” Grammar’s not great, but the claim sure sounds great. A little confusing (‘resilience create volume skin? Moisture coating veil?’ What?)

I took their claim to basically mean that it’ll moisturize your skin while making it feel supple and protecting it from dryness by keeping it moisturized for hours.

It’s also advertised as a cream for (extremely) dry skin, which was another reason why I was so adamant about not purchasing it despite my curiosity about the product.

Anyways, first things first. I LOVE the smell of this cream. It smells like mangoes, and I pretty much love most (If not, almost all) fruit scents. Seriously…can I get a fragrance version of this?

Moving on, the cream itself has the texture of softened butter (But that might be because my room’s sort of warm…) and is a pale yellow colour. I actually really like the texture. I don’t consider creams that are too runny to actually be creams, but really thick creams sort of bother me.

Anyhow, this cream doesn’t absorb as quickly as gel creams or the runnier ‘creams’. For a few minutes after application, I can still sort of feel it on my skin, but it doesn’t bother me much or anything (I only use it at night…I use oil-absorbing lotions in the morning). I wonder if this is the apparent ‘moisture coating veil’? You may want to take note of this, though, if you’re using it in the morning because it might affect makeup application (I haven’t tested it out, though, so I’m not 100% sure about this).

The scent, though, disappears pretty much right after you apply it (I’m not sure whether I should be happy or disappointed about that…).

I applied this cream a couple hours before I went to sleep once, though, just to test out the claim that it moisturizes skin for hours. After about 4 hours, my skin didn’t feel moisturized, but it didn’t feel drier, either. It’s difficult to test this sort of thing, though.

Now, onto the actual effects of the cream.

I woke up the next morning as was pleasantly surprised to find that my skin wasn’t oilier than it usually was when I woke up. Oilier skin is something that deters me from trying out rich creams or ‘butters’, so this definitely earned some points for this cream from me.

After only 3 nights of using this cream, I noticed that my dry patches (Which were occasionally also itchy) were significantly less dry. By the 7th night (This sample actually had enough product in it for a total of 8 uses, i.e. over a week. Nice.), they were pretty much gone. So this cream is definitely moisturizing.

I never broke out or anything, so this cream wasn’t too much for even my oily t-zone. Plus, I had no allergic reactions or anything to it, so yay!

All in all…a pretty good cream. Definitely deserves the rave reviews I’ve seen.

Pros:

  • Smells amazing
  • Good consistency
  • Doesn’t make skin oilier
  • Significantly improved my dry patches (i.e. Very moisturizing)
  • No break outs or allergic reactions

 

Cons:

  • Takes a few minutes to fully absorb

 

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I purchase? Yes.

I still have a bunch of samples to try out, but I think that this would make a nice night cream (What I’m looking for right now). But I might not purchase it until later, though. It’s summer right now, so I don’t think I need anything this moisturizing yet, plus I just spent quite a lot of money so I don’t really want to spend another almost $30.00 on a jar of cream. And it depends on whether any of the other samples works better (And is maybe more wallet friendly).

2 thoughts on “[Review] TheFaceShop Mango Seed Heart Volume Butter

  1. Pingback: [Review] TheFaceShop Chia Seed Sebum Control Moisture Cream | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

