[Review] TheFaceShop Power Perfection BB Cream SPF 37/PA++

I hope you guys are ready for another review, because here it is!

2014-06-15 21.35.43

Due to my frequent trips to TheFaceShop as of late, I’ve received A TON of samples. Like…a pretty unbelievable amount. I’ve actually had to sort everything into little piles because there are so many. Apparently, unlike the one in Toronto, the shop I go to is really generous with samples! Anyhow, I received a total of 4 of these BB cream samples and had heard that they were quite good, so decided to try them out.

This BB cream apparently provides “total skin treatment to achieve a “POWER PERFECTION SKIN” by imparting proactive care to overall skin problems, including bagginess, roughness and dryness”.

2014-06-15 21.36.08

I got this in the colour natural beige, which is a touch too light for my skin tone, but it’s fine after some careful blending. It’s pretty creamy, which makes it easy to apply and blend fairly flawlessly. It also has SPF, which is always nice.

2014-06-15 21.39.44

I would say that this BB cream only has sheer coverage. As you can see in the above photo, it covered up my veins (Which weren’t all that visible to begin with), but you can still see the eyeliner line pretty clearly. On my face, it covered up small pimples and almost faded acne scars decently, but bigger (Angrier, redder) pimples or darker scars were still pretty visible. So that wasn’t good.

This has a dewy finish, which I balanced a little with some powder on top.

Unfortunately, within an hour of putting this BB cream on, I noticed that I got a few new pimples on my chin. Uh-oh.

By the end of the day, I realized that I had a minor breakout not only on my chin, but around the side of my mouth, too! Plus, my skin was oilier than it usually was when I put powder on top of it. The BB cream had faded, though (But there was still some coverage), and my skin just looked shiny.

Plus, though it claimed to improve roughness and dryness of skin, it definitely did not have any such effect (I can’t comment on bagginess because I don’t have that, but I do have dry patches).

Also, upon a quick search on CosDNA, I noticed that this BB cream not only contained quite a few acne causing ingredients (Including dimethicone), it also contained a ton of parabens (5 different types, to be exact). So yeah.

In short…I don’t know what I’m going to do with the other 3 samples, but I’m definitely not going to risk trying it again.

Pros:

  • Easy to apply and blend flawlessly
  • Has SPF
  • Decent wear time

 

Cons:

  • Sheer coverage
  • Gave me minor breakouts
  • Made my skin oilier

 

Overall rating: 3.5/10

Would I purchase? No.

Nice try, TheFaceShop, but I liked your CC cream more. I’ll probably just end up giving these samples away and hoping that someone else has better luck with them. Well, that’s one benefit of samples. You can try things instead of wasting your money and turn your attention on things you really want that work.

Well, on the bright side, at least the breakout is minor enough that it’s not something a little care and the proper products won’t fix.

Leave a Reply

