[Review] TheFaceShop Face It Nails

Hey guys, back with another review! Another little something I bought from TheFaceShop (Do you see that all you Korean cosmetics people out there? Opening more chains means people like me will visit…super frequently…so frequently that the salespeople will begin to recognize you…)

Oh, and just a side note…this is apparently my 100th post on this blog. Wow…I barely even felt that!

By the way, I apologize in advance for the terrible pictures. I took these in a rush with my cellphone and didn’t notice until just now how bad the quality was…sorry, guys.

2014-05-23 19.36.16

Anyhow, I had a wedding to attend a little while ago and wanted to do my nails to match my dress, but was missing a colour. So when I saw this at TheFaceShop for only $4.00, I snatched it up. I’ve tried a lot of Korean cosmetics but never a nail polish because my drugstore polishes were decent prices, and because I’d heard that a lot of Korean polishes were cheap but streaky and, well…you get what you pay for. But I decided to test it out for myself.

Nail polish (Along with eyeshadow and perfume) is something I don’t like buying online, though, because I like to see and test out the colours in-store myself. So this was an opportunity I couldn’t pass up!

Anyways, enough about me. Let’s move on to the actual polish.

They have a pretty big colour collection in store, and I was so tempted to grab another one, but I decided against it. Besides shimmery polishes, though, they had matte, glitters, those pastel polishes with glitter chunks that everyone’s pushing out nowadays…something for everyone. Plus, cheap nail polish remover, nail strengthener, top coat, base coat, and even peel-off base coat. Everything you need at a great price.

The colour that I bought is actually a touch darker in real life…more of a pale lilac colour. Very pretty. It’s apparently part of their “Face It Nails Bride Collection”. This colour is one I could definitely see being worn by brides. It has a fine shimmer, which makes it perfect for all kinds of occasions.

2014-05-23 19.36.31

The bottle itself is nice, not too fancy but not too plain, either. The brush is simple, but pretty easy to use. The packaging is sturdy and functional, which is all I really want in a nail polish.

2014-05-23 19.37.58

The first coat of this polish is streaky and sort of semi-transparent, which was a little disappointing. Basically, the first coat applies streaky and dries unevenly. If the second coat is applied carefully, though, then it becomes opaque and dries pretty smoothly.

If the second coat is applied too thinly, then you get another streaky, not quite opaque coat. If it’s applied too thickly, you’ll end up with tiny air bubbles, but it’ll be opaque.

2014-05-23 19.40.46

The colour that you get is the same as the colour you see in the bottle (As shown in the picture above), which is nice. By the way, I haven’t cleaned up the edges or anything yet, so…yeah. I also have no idea why the polish looks so grainy in this picture…maybe it’s the shimmer reflecting strangely? Oh well.

The drying time was pretty average. By 5 minutes, it was dry to the touch and, by 15 minutes, it was pretty much completely dry. Not bad, not great…again, just average.

I was in a rush when I applied this, so I forgot to apply base coat when I first used it, but, luckily, it didn’t stain my nails. Then again, the colour is pretty pale, so I’d be more surprised if it did. I’ve heard that the darker colours do, though, so I’d be careful if I were you.

I did, though, remember to apply top coat. The nail polish was pretty shimmery on its own, but the top coat added that nice glossy finish I wanted. I also wanted to extend the wear, of course.

Unfortunately, this nail polish chipped by the third day, even with top coat. Usually, my nail polishes don’t chip for at least a week with my top coat. After a week, this polish had chipped like crazy (I was too busy to remove it). So, in short, I wouldn’t exactly call this polish chip-resistant. Or very long-wearing.

So I agree with the earlier statement: You get what you pay for.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Big colour selection
  • Sturdy bottle
  • Easy to use brush
  • Usually opaque in 2 coats

 

Cons:

  • Streaky
  • First coat dries unevenly
  • Might take 3 coats to be opaque
  • If applied too thickly, will get air bubbles
  • Chips really quickly

 

Overall rating: 6.5/10

Would I repurchase this? Maybe.

It’s true that the streakiness and short wear time annoys me, and would deter me from going there and buying out half their selection (They may not have great formulas, but I LOVE the colours), but it was decent (And cheap) enough that I may go back for one (Or two…or maybe three…) more. I’m pretty sure they know their polishes aren’t great, but they also know that their polishes are cheap enough that enough people won’t care. Anyways, there are a lot of pretty colours and whatnot in-store, but if you’re looking for a cheap, chip-resistant polish…I’d suggest you spend a couple more bucks on another polish. It wouldn’t hurt to try one of those pretty glitters out, though. Or maybe their peel-off base coats and nail polish removers and whatnot.

One thought on “[Review] TheFaceShop Face It Nails

  1. Pingback: [Review] TheFaceShop Trendy Nails (Glitter) | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

