[Review] Skinfood Platinum Grape Cell White Sun Essence SPF50+ PA+++

Hope you’re enjoying your weekend, everyone. I said I had a slew of reviews that needed to be put out, so here’s another one!

2013-12-15 12.32.18

An anti-wrinkle, whitening essence with SPF 50? Count me in!

I got this as a sample from one of my mini-hauls, and have meant to do a review for a while, but never quite got around to it. So, though it’s a little late, here it is. Short but everything that I can tell you guys.

The texture of this is sort of like a sunscreen, except a little bit on the runny side.

The smell sort of resembles that of a sunscreen, too. But it fades pretty much right after you apply it. Plus, it doesn’t leave a white cast like sunscreens do, either. Bonus!

It absorbs quickly and doesn’t leave behind any sticky feeling of any kind.

This packet only lasted me about 3 days, so I didn’t expect any kind of actual whitening effect, but it certainly prevented sunburn! And, even though I was outside pretty much all day in the hot summer sun, I didn’t tan. So the sunscreen part of this definitely works well.

Unfortunately, I don’t feel that I can comment on the whitening or anti-wrinkle effects, but I can say that this didn’t cause any kind of adverse reaction. No dryness or breakouts or redness of any kind. It didn’t do anything else for my skin, either. I didn’t feel that it was any more moisturized or anything.

But this was a great product to put under my usual moisturizer, especially for days when I was going out. A little sun protection is great, and something as good as SPF50 is even better.

Pros:

  • High SPF
  • Doesn’t leave a white cast
  • No sticky feeling
  • No adverse reactions

 

Cons:

  • No positive effects that were noticeable

 

Overall rating: 7.5/10

Would I purchase this? Maybe.

I like how this not only prevents you from getting tanned, but also whitens your skin. And though this sample didn’t last very long, I at least know that this product exists now. I’m been looking into products with high SPF because I want sun protection without the white cast or sticky feeling of sunscreen. And a couple of added benefits is definitely a plus. So I’m going to try out a couple of other products, but this one will definitely be considered when the time comes.

Leave a Reply

