[Review] Etude House Pearl Extract Mask

Final review of the day! Hope you guys enjoy.

2014-04-13 21.47.01

Now, if you’ve read some of my reviews before, you probably know that my last couple of experiences with Etude House masks (And even a skincare product) didn’t go so well. For that reason, I briefly considered giving it away to a friend. After all, it was only a sample so it wasn’t as if I had paid for it. I decided to bite the bullet and try it, though, or else I would probably just never use an Etude House mask again. Of course, a thorough skin test beforehand was a necessary precaution.

Anyways, on to how the mask actually performed.

This mask apparently “contains pearl extract that promotes natural skin glow” with a “tension fit design for improved facial adhesion and comfort”. Well…let’s see about that. I was already pretty skeptical to begin with, so I didn’t expect much. I’m pretty sure I would’ve been relieved if I didn’t have an adverse reaction to this.

2014-04-13 21.47.24

This mask smelled pretty artificially perfumed, so, right from the start, I wasn’t feeling it. I also saw that it contained alcohol, which is an ingredient I’m not exactly fond of. I’ve had experiences with alcohol in products where my skin ended up feeling sort of dry.

2014-04-13 21.50.43

The mask itself had a decent fit. Not great, but not as bad as other ones that I’ve encountered, either. It was a bit too big, as all masks seem to be. It adhered pretty well, though, so that was nice.

I left this mask on for about 40 minutes and was relieved to find that there was no kind of adverse reaction…yet. Unfortunately, it didn’t seem to have any effect on my skin. No glow, no nothing. My face just had a lot of serum on it, which I carefully massaged in.

There was quite a bit of serum left in the mask, which I carefully rubbed into my neck and collarbone. I didn’t know what to do with the leftover serum, so I just tossed the rest.

The next morning, still nothing. No ‘natural skin glow’, softer skin…just the same as before I applied the mask. But that meant no breakouts or anything, either. So at least one thing worked out.

Pros:

  • Good ‘facial adhesion’
  • Lots of serum in the mask
  • No allergic reaction
  • No breakouts

 

Cons:

  • Perfumed smell
  • Contains alcohol
  • No effect on skin

 

Overall rating: 2.5/10

Would I purchase this? No.

Unfortunately, another negative experience with Etude House. At least this one didn’t end in a breakout or allergic reaction. I’m still pretty skeptical about Etude House skincare products in general, though, so I probably won’t be trying another one for a little while, unless it’s a sample. I love their cute packaging and their makeup seems to work okay for me, but maybe their skincare just isn’t compatible with my skin.

Leave a Reply

