[Review] Skin Food Egg White Pore Foam

Reviews galore are waiting for you guys! Here’s another product that I can finally tick off of my “Need To Review” list. Enjoy!

So, like I said before, I wanted a cheaper alternative to my Lancôme cleanser. So when I got this much-raved about Skin Food Egg White Pore Foam as a sample in one of my orders, I was pretty excited to try it. I’ve read that, like the Lancôme cleanser, it cleans REALLY thoroughly, doesn’t dry out skin and is an overall great choice for oily skin like mine. Now…did it rise to the challenge? Let’s see.

2013-12-15 12.39.08

This cleanser was just plain white foam with a subtle scent that I couldn’t quite identify, but it was neither pleasant nor unpleasant. Just sort of there.

You need really little to clean your entire face. Just a pea sized amount or so is enough for your face AND neck. Just massage it into skin and rinse. Simple, right?

Like the reviews said, this stuff really cleans. This literally gives you squeaky clean skin. And hands, even. As clean as my Lancôme cleanser, removing all traces of make-up, oil and other stuff.

On the downside, my skin felt a little tight and dry after using it. Not a good sign.

This sample lasted me about 5 days, since you needed so little each time. In these 5 days, I didn’t notice a change good or bad in the condition of my skin or my acne. Just that my skin was clean after each use, albeit a slight tight and dry feeling that was easily solved with some moisturizer.

No breakouts or allergic reactions, but also no improvements in my current breakouts or the softness of my skin. If anything, I suspect my skin would have become drier with use had I not used moisturizer on it immediately after each use.

So, unfortunately, I can’t say that this is better than my Lancôme cleanser. A close dupe, and much cheaper, yes, but not quite there yet. I don’t like the tight and dry feeling, either, but this stuff does get your skin clean. And doesn’t irritate acne, either.

Pros:

  • Little goes a long way
  • Gets skin squeaky clean
  • Doesn’t cause breakouts

 

Cons:

  • Skin feels a little tight and dry after use

Overall rating: 8/10

Would I purchase? Probably not.

While this gets that really nice clean that I love, the tight and dry feeling afterwards gets to me. It’s probably not great for my skin if I strip it of all moisture on a daily basis. If you’re curious, I still suggest you give this a try. It’s a pretty good cleanser, actually, especially for make-up. If you have dry skin, though, you might want to think twice. Oily skin? This might turn out to be your HG cleanser (There was zero shine on my face after each use with this cleanser). If you have combination skin like me, I suggest giving it a try before purchasing the full size.

Leave a Reply

