[Review] The Body Shop Cranberry Joy Lip Balm

Hey guys! I know it’s been a while, because I’ve been really busy lately, but I’m back with a whole slew of items that need to be reviewed. Hope you guys enjoy!

Image

So the product I’m going to review is something that I bought way back during the holiday season from The Body Shop: Their cranberry joy lip balm.

This lip balm was adorable and looked perfectly festive enough for the holiday season, so I had just had to get it.

The smell of this entire line of products is wonderful and just plain heavenly. I love love love it. And the colour (Which is a gorgeous red, as you can see) is sheer with a subtle hint of shimmer, which isn’t visible in the picture, but is really lovely on the lips. It’s great both on its own and when layered on top of tints.

The shape of the balm is really cute, but a little awkward to apply at first. However, it evens out after a while and then it’s all fine. It’s small enough to fit in bags and clutches and such really easily, but probably it might not be something you could easily carry around in your pocket.

The cylinder at the bottom of the balm makes application pretty easy, though, so that’s good.

Unfortunately, this product didn’t meet the most important criteria. It’s a lip balm, but it doesn’t really moisturize. I had high hopes for it because I heard about their butters, but this fell short. Quite short, actually. It just sort of felt like a layer on top of my lips, but not one that did much for them. In fact, if my lips were really dry and cracked, this would highlight that. Not pretty. On smooth lips, though, this applies pretty smoothly and evenly. But not really otherwise.

It also needs to be re-applied about once every hour and a half. And since it doesn’t moisturize your lips and accents cracks on them, this isn’t great.

So, in short, this is a pretty good make-up item for the holiday season, or any time in general, really. Just not a good lip balm. Which is unfortunate, since that’s what it’s supposed to be.

Pros:

  • Smells great
  • Sheer red colour
  • Subtle shimmer
  • Easy to apply

 

Cons:

  • Not moisturizing
  • Accents dry lips
  • Needs to be re-applied a lot

 

Overall rating: 5/10

Would I repurchase? No.

I wanted to love this product. I did. I loved how it smelled, and that colour and shimmer were just gorgeous and perfect for festive events. But, sadly, I needed a lip balm and this just wasn’t up to par. Well…I guess I’ll just go back to my EOS lip balm for the time being.

Leave a Reply

