[Review] N.Y.C. Liquid Eyeliner

I decided to get cracking and finally review some products whose reviews have been long overdue. Hope you guys enjoy this day of productivity!

2013-11-22 21.35.16

Sometime last year, I picked up this eyeliner in a rush. It was only about $2.00 (Read: Dirt cheap), and I needed some eyeliner for an important event, and this happened to be the first one I grabbed. To be honest, I saw the price, though “What the heck, it’s only $2.00” and grabbed it. I’ve only used it a couple dozen times since then, since I’m not a big eyeliner user. I finally threw the remainder out at the end of last year. I got this liner in black.

Anyways, we’re always looking for cheap, yet great, products. I was hoping this would be one.

The packaging is nice and simple, and the ink doesn’t rub off with time, which is nice. Plus, it’s slim enough that it can fit pretty much anywhere.

2013-11-22 21.35.46

The brush is nice and thin, and pretty easy to use. Pretty good for people who don’t usually use liquid liner, like me. It can be used to make fine lines or thick lines, which is nice.

2013-11-22 21.36.23

The good?

As you can see, this eyeliner is super pigmented and goes on matte. It also doesn’t flake or any of that nasty stuff, which is great. Nice consistency and pigmentation, and that matte finish is a definite bonus. So far, so good. It dries in a decent amount of time, but not quickly enough when you’re in a rush.

Now…the bad. This eyeliner is pretty easy to smudge. Which some people might want for that smokey eyed look. But I didn’t like that so much. When I’m in a rush, I don’t want to end up having raccoon eyes. Below is a picture taken of the eyeliner, after having run my finger over the lines. This was about 20 seconds after having drawn the lines with the eyeliner. And, as you can see, it doesn’t exactly smudge nicely.

2013-11-22 21.36.48

You can see the outlines of the thicker lines, though the thin lines have disappeared completely. This is definitely not a good look for anyone. If I had to guess, this eyeliner takes about 45 seconds, maybe a little longer to dry. Just to be safe, I wouldn’t touch it for at least a minute, though.

The lasting time of this eyeliner, though, is decent. I applied it in the morning, and by the evening (About 8 hours later), it was only somewhat faded. Easy to remove. All it takes is some water, really. I usually don’t have to pull out the eye makeup remover with this eyeliner.

This does mean that it’s not waterproof. So be warned. For someone lazy like me, though, being removed easily with water is a real time-saver.

All in all, it was a decent eyeliner for the price I paid, I suppose.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Brush is thin, easy to use
  • Can draw thick or thin lines
  • Doesn’t flake
  • Good pigmentation
  • Matte finish
  • Decent lasting time
  • Easy to remove

 

Cons:

  • Doesn’t set as quickly as I’d like
  • Smudges easily
  • Doesn’t smudge nicely
  • Not water-proof

 

Overall rating: 7/10

Would I repurchase? Probably not.

I’m more a pencil eyeliner kind of girl. Quick, convenient, and easy to use. Plus, I love the natural look, and pencil does that better than liquid. If you want a decent, cheap eyeliner, then this one might be worth a try. Just be careful about smudging. But, for only $2.00, it’s definitely worth trying out.

Leave a Reply

