[Review] Missha MISA Gold Snow Toner & Emulsion Sample Set

Hey guys! I’m back with another review. A little overdue, but this is a review of a toner and emulsion sample set that I got with my Cosemtic-Love order from a few months ago. Hope you guys enjoy!

2013-12-15 12.35.00

Okay, so everything on the bottles was in Korean when I first got it, so I had no idea what was what. Or even what it was, really. Luckily, I was able to read “Missha” (Thank you Chinese literacy skills!) and subsequently find the product on Google. A lucky guess and “Toner” translated on Google Translate helped, too. Anyways, this set is apparently “of Traditional Oriental Medicine contained 100% Ginseng Water, Wild Ginseng and Pure gold, which provides deep moisture with a sticky feeling. It looks as if golden snow comes down your face. If you have skin troubles about aging, this product is a correct answer.” Looking at the main ingredients, it also apparently include ganoderma lucidum (a type of mushroom) and velvet.

My first thought? “Well…this is one fancy product.”

Ginseng, fancy mushrooms, gold and velvet in a bottle? Can’t pass up the chance the chance to try that.

Anyways, I was pretty excited to try my first emulsion ever, so I must say that I was pretty happy when I saw this little set. I was a little confused about that whole golden snow part, and a little disappointed because it was an anti-aging product, so I guess I wouldn’t really be able to see the effects, but no harm in starting early, right?

After a search on Google, I found the actual packaging for these two products. It’s quite nice, although a little mature for my taste. All gold, which goes with the theme of “Gold Snow”. Which is a pretty interesting concept, actually.

Now…on to the actual review.

The really annoying part about this set was the bottles. It was just a circular opening underneath the cap, and I had a lot of trouble getting the product out. Especially the emulsion. It involved a lot of shaking, wrist work and smacking the opening on my palm (Ouch!). Needless to say, it was not exactly a great experience. I can’t tell if a little goes a long way with this product, even though I always only used a little. But this was because I could get so little out of the stupid bottle.

The toner was a liquid, slightly thicker than water and the emulsion was a white, thin lotion.

The golden snow part actually makes sense once you use it. I didn’t notice it right away, but after a couple uses, I noticed that, if I look really carefully, my palms sparkled with gold after each use. It was so subtle that you wouldn’t notice it unless you really looked. I wondered if this might be the gold, but it might just be something Missha added to make the product seem nicer. Who knows. It was a nice touch, but I didn’t really see a point in it.

Both the toner and emulsion smelt sort of like perfume, which I didn’t exactly love. But it was subtle enough that it didn’t really bother me.

They both absorbed really fast, though, which was great.

Now…did this actually work? I can’t tell how well this works as an anti-aging product, but I can probably comment on what it did.

Which was next to nothing, for me. But keep in mind that this was formulated as an anti-aging product, and I don’t have wrinkles or anything like that yet, which is why there may have been no effect on my skin.

The emulsion, though, was great paired with the Nature Republic Aloe Vera gel. It gave my combination just enough moisture, but didn’t make my skin any oilier. So this would make a decent pair with another light moisturizer. Nothing special about it, though.

Because I could only ever manage to get a tiny bit out of the bottle each time, this set lasted me about 3 weeks. So…almost a month. Yeah. So if I was going to see any effect, I think I would’ve.

Maybe if I try this a couple decades later, I’ll like it more, or at least see some effect. For now, though, this wasn’t a product I would purchase.

Pros:

  • Full-size product packaging is nice
  • Gold snow theme is interesting
  • Absorbed quickly
  • Good paired with a light moisturizer for oily skin

 

Cons:

  • Trial bottles hard to get product out of
  • Gold glitter seemed pointless
  • Smelled of perfume
  • No real effect on skin

Overall rating: 4/10

Would I repurchase? No.

Nice concept, but not really something that was right for my skin. Or age group. This might be a good anti-aging product, or it might not be. It certainly is an interesting one. With lots of fancy ingredients that I liked trying for the first time. So, for anyone looking for an anti-aging product, maybe give this one a try. Otherwise, not one that I’d really recommend.

 

4 thoughts on “[Review] Missha MISA Gold Snow Toner & Emulsion Sample Set

Leave a Reply

