[Review] TonyMoly Catchu Wink Tony Tint

As promised, here’s a review for you guys!

Image

During a promotion on BeautynetKorea, they gave away this tint as a sample with each order. After hearing so many raves about the apparently famous TonyMoly tints, I couldn’t resist putting in an order. Being a lip tint fan, I just had to try one out myself, and it was free, so what did I have to lose, right?

Anyways, it was a classic red. I didn’t have a problem with that. In fact, I was pretty happy with it. It came in a small round bottle with a standard doe tip applicator. Nothing special, but it serves its purpose, with is all that matters. The actual bottle looks pretty adorable, though, with the cat face on the lid and all.

This is a liquid tint, and it settles really quickly, so you have to work fast. It applies pretty evenly, though, so no worries about that. It’s pretty pigmented, so I’m always pretty careful to apply only a little bit each time. For an everyday look, I don’t really want bright red lips. A few drops of this gives a really nice colour, though. It basically makes your lips a shade darker and gives it an overall nice, healthy, natural look. A few more layers, and you get a really nice red.

This is also great for gradient lips. It’s really easy to use, and I love using it to create gradient lips. The look has become one of my favourites.

The wear time of this tint is really good. Even after 7 hours, it still hasn’t completely faded away. And that’s with regular eating and drinking. Once, I applied a few more layers to achieve that red lip, and it took some work to get it off. Even rubbing it with water wouldn’t take it off completely. Seriously…it was pretty hard to take off. Washing it off of my fingers takes a few doses of soap and water, too. This tint doesn’t leave prints or rub off anywhere, either. Tonymoly is serious about their tints.

As with pretty much every tint, though, this dries out lips. Thankfully, though, it doesn’t accent cracks of anything on lips. But some lipbalm over the top would be advisable. Or even some gloss. Just something. Because of the tint, though, dry lips are a lot less noticeable. Which is a plus, even though it’s the tint that dried out lips.

After a few uses, I noticed that my fingers always came away streaked with red after closing the bottle. I then realized that the tint leaks out of the side! I was afraid to get it on my stuff, so I’ve had a tissue wrapped around it ever since and I’ve been really careful to wipe the edge of the cap before putting it back in my make-up box. I’m not sure if this happens with the regular bottle, but I hope not. That would be a pain. It also means that I don’t dare carry this anywhere for fear of dying everything I own red.

If you look at the picture above, you’ll see that the bottle is only about a third full. I definitely haven’t used that much yet (I’ve only used it a handful of times), so the leaking has definitely wasted some of the product. Good thing I didn’t purchase the sample!

Otherwise, I’m pretty happy with this tint. The product itself is great, and the longest wearing tint I’ve ever tried. Great for gradient lips, pigmented…and, browsing through a few sites, not very pricey, either.

Pros:

  • Pigmented
  • Applies evenly
  • Great for gradient lips
  • Long wear time

Cons:

  • Settles quickly (Need to work quickly)
  • Hard to take off
  • Drying
  • Bottle leaks

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

I can definitely understand why these tints get so much hype. They’re great! Although, for anyone looking to purchase a sample, I’m going to warn you right now that the bottles may leak. Of course, I might’ve just gotten a defective one, so…but the tint itself is so worth it. I can’t speak for all TonyMoly tints, though I’d love to try another one. If you’re a fan of lip tints, I definitely recommend checking these out.

Leave a Reply

