[Review] Yves Rocher Sebo Specific Stop-Smart Concealer

Another review…this one has been long overdue, but it’s here now!

Image

I got this product sometime in October, and I’ve been using it for almost half a year now, so I think it’s safe to say I know what I’m talking about when I say this product is good.

Let me give you their description for this concealer first:

“Stop Smart Concealer targets and acts swiftly against minor blemishes on oily and combination skin…Immediately camouflages minor blemishes – Visibly speeds up their disappearance.”

Sounds too good to be true, right? A concealer that’s made for oily skin, covers up blemishes and helps heal them, too? That’s what got me curious. I thought, “Does this really work?”

Now…they were smart with their wording. Notice how they only say, “minor blemishes”. Yeah. I’ll elaborate on that later.

Image

First, though, the packaging. It’s nice and slim, and comes with quite a lot of product. It’s super easy to carry around, which I like. The packaging is both simple and effective. The twist-up base is nice and doesn’t get stuck. This is usually $15.00, but I got mine on sale for $10.00, which is decent. Yves Rocher has a lot of sales, so it’s not hard to get this on sale.

By the way, the picture above does not show the product fully twisted up. I just wanted to give you an idea of what the product looked like, but I didn’t want to twist it all the way up.

It’s a creamy concealer, and fairly easy to blend. There’s only one colour available, and it can be a bit too dark for some people. It’s too dark for some areas of my face, but, with some blending, it’s fine. Also, a little goes a pretty long way with this. One small swipe is sufficient to cover up a small patch of acne scars. Too much of it, though, will result in a not-so-desirable look (Read: A cakey looking patch).

Seriously, though, I’ve been using this for a while and I’ve barely used any of this stuff. Maybe…1/10th? Probably not even. And I’ve been using it pretty much every day.

The concealer itself is pretty pigmented. Like they said, a little swipe of this stuff is usually enough to make minor blemishes pretty much invisible. Minor meaning super small, though. And it doesn’t cover whiteheads up very well, which is unfortunate. This covers up big pimples decently, but not as well as I’d like. It covers up scars decently, as well, though not the darker ones.

It usually blends fairly when I have BB cream on, so that’s nice. Basically, it’s great alone or with foundation.

Strangely enough, I can’t use this in the area between my eyes when I have BB cream on. It’s really hard to blend and just looks like…a odd patch of concealer. It’s not very noticeable, but I can see it, which annoys me a little.

The lasting time of this concealer, though is just…wow. Even on my super oily T-zone, it hung on literally until the end of the day. Applied at 8:30 am in the morning, it was still there when I went to wash my face at 9:00 pm at night. It had faded somewhat but…that’s pretty amazing, if you ask me. I’m pretty sure it outlasted my BB cream.

I have also accidentally rubbed my face with this on before, and it hasn’t smudges or anything, so that’s great. It also does a decent job of covering up under eye circles. Seriously, this concealer is pretty versatile.

Now…what you all really want to know is: Does it actually help blemishes?

This is where I applaud the company. Their ingenius of constantly including the word “minor blemishes” made the claims pretty much all true. If it’s a super tiny pimple, it’ll look smaller after you take this concealer off. It’s it’s super tiny and almost healed, it’ll be gone by the end of the day. So yes, this does help heal minor blemishes. It doesn’t do anything for any pimples of avergae size or larger, though, nor does it help with whiteheads at all.

In the end, though, this concealer was a pretty good purchase.

Pros:

  • Nice and slim packaging
  • Good quality packaging
  • Comes with a lot of product
  • Easy to blend
  • A little goes a long way
  • Pigmented
  • Lasts all day, even on oily skin
  • Once set, doesn’t smudge easily
  • Helps with minor blemishes

Cons:

  • Only one colour available
  • Too much ends up looking cakey
  • Doesn’t cover whiteheads, big pimples or dark scars very well
  • Sometimes hard to blend in certain areas when used with BB cream
  • Doesn’t help heal whiteheads of any size at all

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

I’m probably going to be using this concealer for a long time, and I’m probably going to stick with it. It works, so I don’t see much point in trying out other ones that might not work as well. I wouldn’t recommend it to people with fair skin or who need to cover up a lot of whiteheads, but it’s pretty good for oily/combination skinned people. This product performed beyond my expectations (I hadn’t expected it to help with blemishes at all), and I am definitely loving it.

Leave a Reply

