[Review] The Body Shop Brow & Liner Kit

I’m back, everyone! And I have another review here for you guys…

This time, I’m going to review a little something that I got a while ago from the Body Shop: Their Brow & Liner Kit!

I didn’t really need anything for my brows, but I liked the colour of the liner and thought that getting a 2-in-1 kit would be pretty good for someone as lazy as me.

Image

The case is pretty standard. Nothing too fancy, but its simplicity is nice. Also something that I don’t think anyone will be too embarrassed to pull out in public. And it’s easy to carry around, too.

Image

They have 3 colours to choose from, and the one I have is the Brown/Brunette one. I didn’t want the black one because I didn’t want the black liner (I already have one). I don’t know why the colours look so light in the picture (Probably just really bad lighting, as usual), but they’re darker than that. My compact is also sort of dirty…sorry about that. It seems like every time I use it, I’m in a huge rush.

It goes for about $19.00, which is sort of pricey to me, but The Body Shop products usually perform pretty well for me, so I decided to just go for it.

The colours are pigmented, but not quite pigmented enough. I needed to go over the liner about 3 times before the colour really showed up. Same with the eyebrows. But the colours are nice, and show up pretty much exactly how they look in the kit. There’s also a mirror, so it’s pretty convenient.

There’s a little plastic cover on the top, which I really like. It makes it more hygienic, and it also means that I’m less likely to get stuff into the product.

The brush is a little awkward. It fits nicely into the kit and makes everything look nicely put together, and looks interesting too, but it’s not that great to actually use. One end is curved while the other is straight, which always bothers me a little. Honestly, it makes it a little hard to use. The bristles are harder than I expected, too. Seriously, it was practically scratching my eyelid. The double-ended brush is a good idea, but could use a few improvements.

I think this affected the product, too. There were little specks of the product that kept falling on my face while I was using this. I think this might be linked to the fact that the bristles are so…scratchy (Seriously, press a little too hard and it’ll be poking you all over the place).

It lasted a pretty long time, though. I applied it at about 9 in the morning, and it still looked pretty good at 3 in the afternoon. Honestly, I didn’t even need to touch up until about 5 or 6 in the evening. Just don’t rub it or anything, because it smudges really easily. This could be a good or bad thing, though, depending on what look you want. It’s a con for me, though, because I want a natural, neat look, not a smoky eye.

It does mean that is also washes off really easily, too. Just a swipe or two with some eye make-up remover and it’s completely gone. I tried removing it with water, and it just took a few more swipes, but it was no sweat.

Overall, this product was okay, but didn’t really wow me.

Pros:

  • 2-in-1 kit
  • Decent range of colours
  • Nice colours, pretty much exactly how they look in the palette
  • Plastic cover (Hygienic)
  • Convenient
  • Nice lasting time
  • Looks natural
  • Easy to remove

Cons:

  • Pricey
  • Not very pigmented
  • Brush bristles hard (Scratchy bristles)
  • Brush awkward to use
  • Specks of product during use
  • Smudges easily

Overall rating: 6/10

Would I repurchase? No.

It was on sale for $10.00, then maybe, because I love the natural look it gives me. But even then I would be a little hesitant to buy it because of the brush and those annoying little specks. The product itself is decent, but everything else about it isn’t all that great. The scratchy brush really bothers me, actually. I don’t use it except for touch-ups on the go. At home, I use the eyebrow end (I don’t have a brush to replace it), but I use my own eyeliner brush to line my eyes. Nice concept and looks neat, but it could definitely be improved.

Leave a Reply

