[Review] Etude House Fresh Cherry Tint

Yet another review…yay productivity!

This is a product that is really well-known, and a favourite for a lot of people, and I can understand why. I’ll explain more a little later in the review.

Image

First off, can we all just take a moment to appreciate how simple yet cute the bottle is? Honestly, it makes me just want to whip this out every chance that I get.

The bottle is also sturdy and closes nicely and securely. It also doesn’t leak, but this tint isn’t as runny as other tints.

I got this in PK001 (Fresh Pink) just because of how adorable the colour looked (Just a side comment…I just noticed that this is pretty much the same colour as my EOS lip balm…). I was a little afraid that the colour might come out a little too bright pink for my taste, but I took the chance anyways. I already had a red and dark pink tint, and I didn’t really like the orange. I was also curious about how a milky tint would be like. I already had water and jelly, so I wanted to try it.

This was about $7.00 (Shipping included), which wasn’t bad.

The colour is pretty much the exact same colour of the bottle. As you can see, unlike a liquid tint, this tint looks milky…sort of like strawberry milk? I don’t know exactly how to describe it…(Feel free to just look at the picture below as a reference) the tint smells artificially sweet, though I don’t really mind.

Image

The brush is a typical doe brush, and the shape of the handle makes it easy to use.

Seriously, though…even the box this tint came in is adorable.

Not sure why it’s called ‘Fresh Cherry Tint’, though…it doesn’t smell like cherries or anything. Maybe one of the colours looks like cherries? Oh well…I never quite understood how make-up companies came up with names for their products, anyways, and I don’t think I’m about to start to now.

It applies nicely and is pretty pigmented. One coat is generally enough for me. Unlike the other tints I tried, this doesn’t settle in right away, which gives you a lot of time to smooth it and fix it or whatever you need to do. It doesn’t immediately make your lips feel dry, which I like. It doesn’t really settle until a few minutes later, actually.

This tint is pretty versatile. One coat gives a pretty nice look that’s natural with a hint of flirty or girly. Two coats, though, is a little bolder and three, I imagine, would give you hot pink lips.

This tint is also a pretty good option for gradient lips. It’s easy to use and gives a nice finish.

The tint isn’t really drying, but it won’t moisturize your lips. Also, if your lips are dried, it’ll accent those cracks and peeling skin. I once reapplied this tint in the middle of the day, and the result was not great. It was sort of gross, actually.

The lasting time of this tint isn’t great, but it’s decent. After about 5 hours, the colour is pretty much gone. There’s a hint, but it’s barely noticeable. Re-apply one too many times in the day, though, and you’ll get this sort of too much pink look. You need to have done this to really understand, and I hope none of you ever have to learn this the hard way.

Overall, though, this tint was pretty good.

Pros:

  • Cute packaging
  • Colour pretty much the same as shown on the bottle
  • Brush is easy to use
  • Pigmented
  • Versatile
  • Easy gradient lips
  • Doesn’t settle immediately
  • Doesn’t dry out lips too much

Cons:

  • Accents cracked and/or dry lips
  • Doesn’t last as long as other types of tints
  • Can’t be re-applied too many times

Overall rating: 8/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

I can see why people like this tint. The price is decent, and the product is pretty nice. Not to mention the cute, girly packaging. The colours they have are also really nice, and there’s something for everyone. I might try out some of the other colours, although I have a feeling that this is probably my favourite colour. Though I had pretty bad luck with those Etude House masks, this tint may have restored my faith in them a little bit. Or at least made me less wary to try their make-up products. (Still wary about their skincare products, though…)

Leave a Reply

