[Review] TheFaceShop Mini Capsule Pack (Wash-Off)

Today I’ll be reviewing my first Korean wash-off pack…let’s start!

Image

This seaweed wash-off pack by TheFaceShop claims to have “sebum powder for clean skin, seaweed complex give clear skin and creamy texture”. The English might not have been great, but at least it got the message across…mostly.

As you can see, there’s nothing special about the packaging. I liked its simplicity, though.

Anyways, moving on. When this came, the first thing I noted was the size of the container. It was about half the size of my palm and pretty shallow, so I estimated that I would get about 2 uses out of it.

Boy was I wrong. I ended up getting 4 uses from it (Double the amount I originally estimated)…all for $3.12 (With free shipping and samples included in the order!). That’s only $0.78 per use! That’s a pretty good price, if you ask me.

Before I go on, I should probably let you know that I didn’t use it 4 times in one day. But you probably knew that already. What I DID do, though, was use it every second day. So this lasted me over a little over a week. The first time I probably used too little, but I probably used too much the fourth time, so it balances out. I didn’t want my open mask sitting around for any longer, which is why I used more the fourth time.

Now that you know everything you need to…let’s move on to the actual product, shall we?

A good thing about this pack is that I just needed to tape the flap pack onto the capsule after every use. The tape did come off sometimes, though, which was a little frustrating. And it didn’t dry out one bit, even after a week. So that was nice.

I realized that I forgot to take a picture of the actual stuff inside after I finished using it…sorry, guys.

The texture is creamy, like they say. And seaweed green. The scent, though, is obviously form some kind of artificial perfume. It wasn’t too bad, though. Just seemed strange, especially since it didn’t smell anything like seaweed to me. Just…well…like artificial perfume. It was pretty subtle, if that makes it any better.

This was easy to apply and, trust me, a little goes a long way with this mask. Even after my first use, I felt as if I barely made a dent in the capsule.

I waited for 15 minutes, when it had hardened, before washing it off. This stuff is surprisingly easy to wash off. Just a bit of water a voila…no more mask! I liked that about it.

This is the part you’ve all been waiting for…did it actually work?

It saddens me to say this…but no, it didn’t. Even after 4 uses, I saw no difference. At all. My skin might have been slightly softer after each use, but that might have just been wishful thinking on my part.

After I saw no difference the first time, I had assumed that it was one of those things where you’ll see better results in the long run. The third and fourth time, I kept the mask on 25 minutes, just to see if it would make a difference, but it didn’t. My skin was still as oily the next morning, and it did absolutely nothing for my acne. This goes both ways, though. It didn’t break me out, either.

All in all…this pack was fun to use, but that’s it.

Pros:

  • Lots of uses in one capsule (A little goes a long way)
  • Doesn’t dry out
  • Nice texture that’s easy to apply
  • Easy to wash off
  • Didn’t break me out

Cons:

  • Subtle but artificial smell
  • Didn’t do anything for my skin, even after 4 uses
  • Difficult to reseal

Overall rating: 4/10

Would I repurchase? No.

While I always thought that wash-off masks were kind of fun to use (Though, in all honesty, sheet masks are way more convenient to use), I don’t really fancy wasting my money on stuff that doesn’t work for me. Of course, everybody’s skin is different so, while this may not have worked for me, it may work wonders for you. As for me, I’ll hunt around for some other wash-off packs. Ones that hopefully work. Unfortunately, though, I think I’ll just skip over this line of TheFaceShop masks. But, hey, at least it didn’t do anything bad to my skin!

Leave a Reply

