[Review] Sally Hansen Hard As Nails Xtreme Wear

Hi guys! Feels like it’s been a while since I’ve done a nail polish review, so I thought that I’d just pop one in here…enjoy!

2013-12-15 12.36.03

The colour I have is “Marine Scene” (32), which is a lovely shade of deep sea blue with a sparkly, sort of pearlescent finish. I thought that it was a gorgeous colour (Note: My absolute favourite colour is blue, so I’m probably definitely biased, which is why I picked up. I didn’t have a colour like it, nor had I ever seen one like it, so it was an easy decision.

Image

I actually got this for free at a grand opening of a store, and, of three options, I picked this one. It was my first pearlescent polish, so I was pretty excited to try it out. The colour is really wearable, and perfect during any season.

2013-12-15 12.37.06

The formula is a little runny, and was a bit streaky when applied, but it dries pretty much completely evenly. The brush is pretty easy to use and applies the polish well (Sorry for the blurry picture…not quite sure why only the polish is blurry). The colour is pretty much the exact same in the bottle with about 3 coats on. This polish is not really opaque unless you have at least that many coats, which I didn’t really like. The colour, though, looks great on my nails.

The drying time is pretty average, about 30 minutes for it to be completely dry (For 3 coats, that is). I’m a bit impatient, though, so I usually opt for fast drying polishes when I can. This was free, though, so I guess I can’t really complain.

For this polish, it’s the wear time that really amazed me. With topcoat, this polish didn’t chip until the beginning of the third week. And, compared to other polishes, it was harder to remove, even with nail polish remover.

This polish was definitely a good addition to my collection.

Pros:

  • Gorgeous shade of blue
  • Pretty pearlescent finish
  • Wearable colour
  • Dries evenly
  • Brush is easy to use and applies polish well
  • Great wear time

Cons:

  • Formula is a little runny
  • Takes 3 coats before it’s completely opaque

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

Sally Hansen seems to never fail for me, which, I guess, is why I like it so much! This shade of blue is great for whenever I need a little pick-me-up, and I never seem to get tired of it. I’d like to try out some of the other polishes in this line. They have a wide range of gorgeous colours to choose from, and the wear time is great! Personally, I think that it’s a good bang for your buck, seeing as how Sally Hansen polishes are usually pretty cheap. Cheap, pretty and overall great…what else can a girl ask for?

Leave a Reply

