[Review] Etude House Pomegranate Mask

Hey, it’s been a while, huh? It’s been kind of busy this past little while, and it’s probably going to get even busier, so I might as well do a review while I can still find time for it!

Image

Today, I’m reviewing another Etude House mask. The pomegranate one, to be specific. If you recall, my last experience with an Etude House mask didn’t go so well, but I was willing to give Etude House another chance. Plus, this was free.

Anyways, this mask apparently ‘contains pomegranate additives that nourish the skin for a healthy clean complexion. Anti-oxidants will restore skin’s elasticity while moisturizing properties penetrate deep and help retention.” That’s a pretty hefty promise, and it’d be something short of a miracle of it could even do half that. I kind of took this with a grain of salt, since it seemed too good to be true.

The mask itself wasn’t too thick or too thin, which was nice. It didn’t smell like pomegranate…just kind of like perfume and artificial scent. Not exactly what I was expecting, but I wasn’t about to let the scent deter me.

The mask was a decent fit. Not great, but not too terrible. It was difficult to adjust the mask in such a way that the essence wouldn’t get in my eyes or mouth, but it didn’t slip or anything afterwards.

The first few minutes, nothing happened. I didn’t really feel anything, except for the cool sensation of the mask. Which was great.

At around the 10 minute mark was when things started getting…well, less pleasant. The mask began to feel itchy, but I assumed that it was just due to the cotton, as it usually is.

A few minutes later, I decided to lift the mask up and check for any signs of irritation. There were none. I continually applied essence on the back of my hand the entire time I had this mask on, as a sort of skin test. Nothing happened, so I assumed that I would be fine.

Around the 20 minute mark, I noticed a small red bump on my hand and thought, “Uh-oh”.

I pretty much immediately took off the mask and was disappointed. And very unhappy.

My face was, thankfully, not covered in red bumps. Neither was my hand.

Unfortunately, I noticed that it seemed irritated a few of my whiteheads and made them redder and much more noticeable.

I also noticed that this mask didn’t really do anything for me. I suppose it made my skin a little bit softer, but that was about it.

The next morning, my skin seemed a little softer than usual, but that might have been just me. It also wasn’t any more oily than usual, or any less. I wasn’t really thinking about any of that, though. Instead, I was staring wide-eyed at the few new pimples that seemed to pop up, very literally, overnight.

Luckily, they went away in about 3 days, with the help of some acne treatment cream, and were pretty small to begin with, but this definitely was not the experience I was looking for when I picked up this mask.

Pros:

  • Made my skin a little softer
  • Didn’t make my skin oilier
  • Didn’t slip off

Cons:

  • Artificial scent
  • Irritated my whiteheads
  • Sort of broke me out

Overall rating: 2.5/10

Would I repurchase? No.

This was free, but it was bad enough to make me wish that they hadn’t given me this as a sample at all. I’ve tried a few Etude House products with little to no problems, but I seem to have really bad luck when it comes to their masks. Maybe it’s something they put in them? I still have one more Etude House mask, but I’m a bit wary of trying it. I think it’s part of the same line as this one, just a different type. With my luck, I’ll probably get a full-out allergic reaction. I might try it, but maybe not now. I just know that, right now, my faith in Etude House masks is seriously dwindling.

Leave a Reply

