[Review] Lush Santa’s Lip Scrub

In the spirit of Christmas, I’ve decided to review a nice, festive product for you guys! Lush’s Santa’s Lip Scrub!

Image

This was actually my first product from Lush…their products are a bit on the pricey side, so I never really bought anything from there. But I had heard a lot of good things about their lip scrubs, and their products and general, and couldn’t pass up such a cute, cherry cola flavoured holiday item. It was $8.95, which was a bit expensive in my opinion.

Anyways, the packaging is nice and simple (And super convenient to carry around, should you want to), but, when I first went, the lip scrubs there were expiring on that day! I had to go back a week later…that’s one thing I don’t like about Lush products. It’s great that they use fresh ingredients and everything, but I’m a little scared that I won’t be able to use the product up in time, though. But you can’t have fresh without expiry, right? Handmade AND fresh…that’s a pretty good exchange, I’d say. This also has no preservatives and is vegan, which is great! Plus, no animal testing. Major props to Lush for being able to pull all of this off. (Though their prices are still a bit too high for me to become a regular there…)

Image

So, on to the actual lip scrub. When I first opened it, I noticed that there were a ton of tiny hearts on the top, which were just adorable. I also noticed the wonderful smell, which has more cherry than cola, but wonderful nonetheless.

The downside about the hearts, though, is that you’re pretty much only going to be picking up hearts the first few times. And they don’t do much. They taste like the rice paper on those White Rabbit Milk candies, which isn’t bad but doesn’t really complement the flavour of the scrub. Which, by the way, is AMAZING. It tastes like cherry with a subtle hint of cola, and I love it! Almost makes me want to scrub my lips twice each time…

Anyhow, this lip scrub is pretty messy. Especially those first few times with all those hearts. With, by the way, don’t actually do anything. I always have stuff falling off my lips, which is why I always use this over a sink. I also have sugar clumps underneath my finger nails every time I use it. Afterwards, it dyes my fingers red for a little bit but, after licking off all the sugar, not even a hint of colour shows. Which is good for me, because I usually use this at night.

Despite being messy, this scrub definitely gets the job done. It’s easy to use once actually on the lips, though, if your fingers are too wet or whatever, the sugar will dissolve. It makes my lips super smooth afterwards and I would imagine that it would create the perfect canvas for any lip product, which is why I’m considering using it in the morning, as well. My lips feel all tingly, which makes me think they’re going to dry out if I don’t apply lip balm soon afterwards. Which I always do.

Even when I wake up the next day, my lips feel baby soft. It’s incredible, actually. With continued use, I’ve also noticed that my lips are a lot softer all the time!

Another thing about this lip scrub: It comes with a lot more product that I thought. Well…actually, correction: You have to use a lot less than I thought. Seriously, I’ve used this for a little over a week and have barely made a dent…aside from finally getting through that layer of hearts. Which is another reason that I’m considering using it in the morning. I need to use this up before it expires, so…

Overall, I can definitely see why Lush lip scrubs are so popular among beauty bloggers!

Pros:

  • Simple, convenient packaging
  • Handmade with fresh ingredients, no preservatives, vegan
  • Tiny hearts are aodrable
  • Scrubs itself tastes amazing
  • Doesn’t leave any colour on my lips
  • Easy to use
  • Makes my lips super soft, even through to the next day
  • A little goes a long way
  • Packed with product

Cons:

  • Expensive
  • Have to use it before the expiry date
  • Hearts are pretty useless…actually make the product a bit harder to use at first
  • Messy

Overall rating: 8.5/10

Would I repurchase? Yes.

Because it’s expensive, I probably won’t be buying Lush lip scrubs regularly, but I’ll definitely be buying some every now and then. I might buy this next Christmas, just because it’s so perfect for the holidays! Honestly, this product is one that I think every girl should use during the holidays. I mean, who wouldn’t want super soft lips? And it’ll be just in time for all of those Christmas parties, dates, whatever…or just to pamper yourself!

2 thoughts on “[Review] Lush Santa’s Lip Scrub

  1. Pingback: The 15 Most Economical Products I’ve Ever Used | delicatedesire

  2. Pingback: [Review] Lush Santa Baby Lip Tint | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

