[Review] TheFaceShop Lovely ME:EX Dessert Lip Balm

The final product from my first Kpoptown haul. Let’s get started, shall we?

2013-11-22 21.19.33

This was another product that I bought mostly for the packaging. Not only is the container itself absolutely adorable, but the honey dipper applicator was just too cute to be passed up. I got this in strawberry, because it was by far my favourite of the three types they offered.

2013-11-22 21.19.46

The container is actually pretty well designed, with the applicator in the lid. It’s also pretty sturdy. I don’t think anything would happen to it even if I dropped it. I like that it comes with an applicator mostly because I don’t really like putting my fingers in the balm not only because my fingers might be dirty, but also because I don’t like how my fingers usually end up kind of sticky and/or waxy feeling from the balm.

This lip balm was $7.48 plus shipping, which I didn’t really think was worth it for the actual lip balm itself. On the upside, it’s actually a pretty good size for a lip balm. (It’s actually almost the size of my Innisfree powder…)

The balm itself smells like like sweet, but somewhat artificial, strawberries. I actually like it, though. The applicator is a little awkward to use, but gets the job done. The balm itself feels like a mixture between a lip balm and a lip gloss, and looks that way, too. It’s light, but kind of sticky. More so if you apply too much of it.

Because of how sticky it is, I wouldn’t recommend you to use it under any other lipgloss, lipstick, whatever. (It would be like using lip gloss under lip stick.)

2013-11-22 21.20.14

(As you can see from the picture, I’ve already used it a few times…)

It can be applied even onto chapped lips, though, which is great. There’s also quite a bit of product in the container, which is nice.

The lasting power on this balm is pretty good, though. I only need to re-apply about 4 hours later, with regular eating and drinking.

This balm isn’t really moisturizing. It’s actually a little drying, but it didn’t make my lips chapped or anything.

Though the packaging and applicator were just too adorable for words, the product itself was so-so.

Pros:

  • Cute packaging and applicator
  • Well-designed, sturdy packaging
  • Pleasant, sweet scent
  • Can be applied onto chapped lips without it settling into cracks
  • Lots of product
  • Light
  • Good wear time

Cons:

  • A bit pricey
  • Applicator is a little awkward to use
  • Feels sticky when applied
  • Can’t be used under other products
  • Not moisturizing
  • A little drying

Overall rating: 7.5/10

Would I repurchase this? Probably not.

Once I’m done with this, I probably won’t buy another one. It’s true that the packaging is cute, and I’ll probably wash it out and store rings in it or something, but I won’t get another one. The sticky feeling I get from the balm bugged me a little and it didn’t perform like a lip balm. It wasn’t moisturizing and was glossier than I expected. I’ll continue using it until it runs out, but then that’s it for this product.

2 thoughts on “[Review] TheFaceShop Lovely ME:EX Dessert Lip Balm

Leave a Reply

