[Review] The Body Shop All-In-One BB Cream

My first BB cream ever! I was super excited to try it…

2013-11-22 17.45.35

(Sorry about the blurry pictures, guys…)

It’s $20.00, but I got this with a “Get $5 off any $25 purchase” coupon. The price was decent, I guess. I got it in shade 01.

Anyways, this is apparently “Hands-down one of the best BB creams on the market”, so I wanted to see if that was actually true. This may have been the only one I’ve tried, but it doesn’t mean that I can’t judge whether it’s good or not. I’m also suspicious about that statement…when they say “on the market”, are they including the Korean market? Because you would have to be absolutely, incredibly amazing to beat the billions of BB creams in that market.

Anyways, it comes with quite a lot. For me, at least. It’s convenient to carry around, too, so that’s good.

It’s a colour-adapting tinted cream, with three different shades ranging from fair to dark, so there’s something for everyone.

It comes out as a white cream with dark flecks that changes colour as you rub it on your skin. Below is a small swatch.

2013-11-22 21.22.13

2013-11-22 21.22.41

As you can see, it’s a perfect match. On the downside, it takes a lot to cover my entire face. It takes a blob about the size of my entire palm to cover my face. It’s super easy to apply, though. Blends well and everything.

Seriously, I put this on half my face and you could barely tell. It basically gives off a “there’s something different about you, GOOD different, but I can’t put my finger on it…” kind of look. I’d say that it gives about sheer to medium coverage. With some concealer, you can barely see even the reddest, angriest of pimples.

It gives a bit of a dewy look, and is light. It basically looks my skin look brighter and healthier. It also lasts a really long time…though I DID use my Holika Holika make-up fixer spray on it. It lasted pretty much all day, with only some fading. When I touched my skin, I also didn’t get that weird feel that I get from heavy foundations, like I was wearing a really thick layer even when I wasn’t, and none came off my on my fingers.

On the downside, it makes my t-zone even oilier than it usually is, even though I used baby powder all over my t-zone underneath this BB cream. It even made the tops of my cheekbones look oily, even though they usually aren’t. Seriously, I had pictures taken when I had this BB cream on and I looked like a shiny mess. Definitely NOT good.

It claims to be moisturizing, but I didn’t really feel moisturizing of any kind. In fact, everything but to t-zone and cheekbones was a little on the dry side when I took this off.

It didn’t give my any breakouts or anything, though, so that was a good thing.

Pros:

  • Convenient packaging
  • Lots of product
  • Matches my skin perfectly
  • Easy to apply, blends well
  • Good coverage
  • Gives a dewy look
  • Makes skin look brighter and healthier
  • Lightweight
  • Long-lasting
  • Didn’t give me breakouts

Cons:

  • Takes lots of product to cover entire face
  • Made my t-zone and cheekbones oilier
  • Drying on other parts of my skin

Overall rating: 8/10

Would I repurchase? I don’t know.

I want to try out some other BB creams, first. Oil control is really important to me, and I didn’t like how insanely oily my t-zone and cheekbones were while wearing this BB cream. It also bothers me how much product it takes to cover my entire face. I’m sure there are better BB creams out there if I look. I also want to try out some others before settling on one. I’m also hoping to find one that’s just as good or better, for less. Of course, I’m going to finish this tube, first.

One thought on “[Review] The Body Shop All-In-One BB Cream

  1. Pingback: [Review] The Body Shop All-In-One Instablur 5-Action Perfector | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

