[Review] Holika Holika Pig Nose Clear Blackhead 3 Step Kit

Another pore strip review! I feel like I’ve tried so many in such a short period of time…

Image

This time, I’ll be reviewing the Holika Holika Pig Nose Clear Blackhead 3 Step Kit, which I got during my Kpoptown beauty haul a little while ago.

I was really excited to use this because I thought that, with the two strips and open and close your pores, this should be pretty effective. I had also read a few positive reviews about this product, so I couldn’t wait to use it. This one was also the most expensive pore strip I had bought, costing $3.08 plus shipping.

The instructions were all in Korean and the times on the back weren’t super clear, so I was just estimating here about times and such.

The first strip was kind of watery, but that was okay. About a minute after I put it on, though, it started burning. That kind of freaked me out. I lifted the edge and saw no redness or signs of irritation but, just in case, I only left it on for about 5 minutes. Nothing happened, but I wasn’t willing to risk anything.

The actual pore strip was pretty much like a regular pore strip. The fit of this one, though, was pretty much perfect. Out of all the pore strips that I had tried, this one had the best fit, even though it was also the smallest. That was okay, though! I left it on for about 15 minutes, until it was dry. When I pulled it out, though, I was a little disappointed. I had thought that, even though I had only left it on for about 5 minutes, the first strip would help get more out. It didn’t really, though. It got quite a lot out of the sides of my nose, which were great, but not that much on the top and front of my nose.

The third strip was kind of gel-like in texture. This one burned too. What is up with this product and burning sensations? Honestly. Luckily, nothing happened with this one either but, again, I only left it on for 5 minutes. I didn’t want to risk anything happening, but I didn’t exactly want to just waste the strips, either.

All in all, it worked, but not as well as I thought. The burning sensations, though nothing happened, are kind of a turn-off, as well.

Pros:

  • Great fit
  • Pulled out a lot of gunk from the sides of my nose

Cons:

  • Pretty pricey
  • Instructions all in Korean
  • Burning sensation
  • Didn’t make much difference on the top and front of my nose

Overall rating: 5/10

Would I repurchase this? No.

Unfortunately, this pore strip didn’t meet my expectations.

The fit was nice, and it did get a lot out of the sides of my nose, but I wouldn’t buy this again. Though my Bioré strips don’t pull out as much from the sides of my nose, they also don’t cost as much and work better on the top and front of my nose. And need I mention the shipping cost?

It’s too bad that this didn’t work. I still haven’t found a product that I would buy instead of my Bioré strips, which is a little disappointing, but maybe also a good thing. I don’t have to pay shipping or anything for those ones, so I’ll probably save more money. I can also wait for those to go on sale, since I frequent many of the stores that sells those.

4 thoughts on “[Review] Holika Holika Pig Nose Clear Blackhead 3 Step Kit

  1. Pingback: Make Your Own Pore Strips « Keitochan Says:

  2. samee i got that tingly burny feeling as well, but the price is alright (no shipping for me). On their website they said to leave it on for 10-15min for the strips, but it didn’t really make a difference. I agree that Biore is better! 🙂

    • 95% of the reason that I’m partial to Bioré is not only because it actually works, but also because it’s so accessible…way more convenient than ordering online.

  3. Pingback: [Review] Holika Holika Pig-Nose Clear Blackhead Perfect Sticker | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

