[Review] L.A. Colors Art Deco Nail Art

I haven’t done a nail product review in a while, so I decided to do one today. Enjoy!

Image

Today I’ll be reviewing L.A. Colors Art Deco Nail Art, which is something that I got last year for a Christmas nail art design that I wanted to do. I got it for about $2.00, which is a pretty good price. They have a pretty big range of colours, so there’s something for everyone, too.

Anyways, it’s basically a glitter polish. There’s smaller glitter, and then slightly larger, hexagonal pieces of silver glitter in the bottle. It’s basically what you see in the picture.

Image

The brush is really thin, and super easy to use. It’s great for making lines and that kind of thing. On the downside, though there’s a lot of glitter in the bottle, you actually need to go over a line two or three times to actually get a glittery line. Otherwise, there’s only a little bit of glitter. Oh, and drops of polish can occasionally slide down the thin brush, so just remember to rub excess polish off the ENTIRE length of the brush.

The smell of this polish is what bothers me the most. It smells even worse than regular polishes, and, if I smell this for too long, I end up with a headache. It’s hard to describe…kind of like a strong mixture of nail polish and some weird chemical scent…? I have to use this nail polish near an open window.

The thing I lost most about this polish is that you can just use a toothpick to grab pieces of the hexagonal glitter and put them on your nails. It’s great for my nail art.

Also, another warning: If your polish isn’t completely, 100% dry, this polish may actually sort of melt your other polish. I used this over a design I did with black polish and, even though it was dry to the touch, I moved the glitter a little bit and noticed streaks of the black polish kind of following.

Another thing about this polish is that it is SUPER DIFFICULT to take off. I’m not sure if that’s a good or bad thing. The wear time is…well…I’ve never had a time when this chipped or anything ever, and I’ve worn it for over 3 weeks before. This stuff is like super glue, though. Especially the hexagonal glitters. The other glitter pieces come off with some rubbing, but the hexagonal stuff is crazy hard to take off. All of the other polish on my nail will have come off, but this one piece will still be there. Sometimes, I have to rub with several soaked cotton balls and even have to use my nails to try to scrape the thing off.

All in all, this polish is worth the price, if you can stand the smell.

Pros:

  • Cheap
  • Good range of colours to choose from
  • Brush is easy to use
  • Glitter looks nice
  • Insanely long wear time

Cons:

  • Need to go over a few times to actually get a glittery line
  • Drops of polish can easily slide down the thin brush
  • Smell sometimes gives me a headache, worse than that of regular polishes
  • Can sort of melt your base polish(es)
  • Incredible difficult to take off

Overall rating: 7/10

Would I repurchase this? Maybe.

The smell is hard to get over, but they DO have a lot of colours and the polish itself it really cheap. I’m also curious to see if the other polishes, that aren’t glitter polishes, have as long a wear time as this one. I hope so but, at the same time, I don’t want it to be as difficult to take off…I can always just use my striper brush and regular polish, though, and those polishes can be used a base polishes too, so I may not purchase another bottle. I’m not sure. I guess we’ll see.

Anyways, thanks for stopping by!

Leave a Reply

