[Review] Lancôme’s Sensational Effects Eye Shadow

Sorry I haven’t posted for a while, but I’m back with another review! This one’s an eyeshadow one, and a favourite one of mine, at that. It has the Lancôme rose logo on the top, which is typical of them, but I love their classy yet simple packaging.

Image

I received this eyeshadow palette for free as part of a “Gift with Purchase” set. It has four colours: Drape, Style Section, Grey Sparkle and The New Black. I actually have two of this palette, from two different gift sets.

Image

As you can see from the picture below, they’re all glittery powder shadows.

Image

Okay, the lighting reflected for two of the shadows in the picture is really weird, but I’ll describe the colours for you:

Drape is a slightly sparkly white shadow.

Style Section, my favourite in the palette, is a glittery silver. It’s lighter than the Grey Sparkle.

The last two colours, Grey Sparkle and The New Black, look pretty much exactly as they do in the picture. The colours all go really well together, but I like wearing them alone better for a more subtle look.

The inside of the lid is a mirror, which is pretty convenient, as well. It’s small and compact, as well, so they’re really easy to carry around.

I love Lancôme shadows because they apply like a dream. They’re easy to apply, and feel as if you aren’t wearing eyeshadow at all. They’re not super pigmented, but just enough that you can blend and build the colour. It’s smooth and literally lasts all day, even without primer, which I just love!

I use Style Section to line my lower lash line, and the stuff is pretty much water and smudge proof. It’s like glitter nail polish: Good luck removing it. Even at the end of the day, it pretty much looks exactly as it did when I applied it in the morning. On top of that, it’s actually pretty difficult to remove unless you have a good eye make-up remover. The staying power of this shadow is just…wow. This would be the shadow you could wear and then, even after crying, have no glitter on your cheeks and have the shadow still intact! It’s that amazing.

Overall, this shadow is simply incredible.

On the downside, though, it’s a bit pricey if you have to buy it. The full-size version is around $40.00…

Pros:

  • Amazing colours
  • Weightless
  • Convenient
  • Easy to apply
  • Easy to blend, colours go well together
  • Buildable colour
  • Amazing lasting power

Cons:

  • THE PRICE

Overall rating: 9/10

Would I repurchase this? No. I would buy something else if I could receive this as a gift, but it’s way too pricey.

As much as I love this, I wouldn’t be able to bring myself to actually buy the full-size version of this. I don’t have that kind of money to use on one palette of eye shadow. I have enough to last me a while, though, which is good. Plus, I’m always on the hunt for chances to receive free Lancôme shadows whenever I have the money to spare, so I’m sure I’ll survive.

Thanks for reading!

One thought on “[Review] Lancôme’s Sensational Effects Eye Shadow

  1. Pingback: [Review] TheFaceShop Lovely ME:EX You & Eyes | delicatedesire

Leave a Reply

