[Review] Yves Rocher Clear Mascara

Another review for you guys!

Image

This time, I’ll be reviewing my first and favourite clear mascara/mascara base.

I got this on sale for 10% off, when Yves Rocher released a collection that reminded me of watercolours. I had been looking for a clear mascara, so this was perfect. I actually really like Yves Rocher, because a lot of their products are gentle and their products suit me, as I like the natural look. They also don’t test on animals and they make a lot of decisions to prevent the use of animal testing, which is a definite plus for me.

I like the bottle design. It’s cute, but not over the top or anything. It’s simple, but nice.

Image

The brush is pretty average, nothing special. It applies the mascara fairly well, though, which is all I really ask for. The formula holds a curl pretty well, even on its own. And my mascara definitely looks better with this, and lasts longer.

If you’re not careful, though, you can get clumps. “How do you get clumps with clear mascara?” Well…you get these clumps that resemble tiny tears, except on your lashes. Fortunately, they’re easy enough to get rid of. It doesn’t make my lashes stick together or anything, though.

Wearing this on its own, I notice that my lashes stay pretty curled for about 4 or 5 hours. It makes my lashes really stiff, though. They’re stiff for the entire day.

I basically use this whenever I want my lashes to look natural and curled, without having to actually put mascara or anything on them. I also use this as a mascara base. It works well both ways. It also works as a brow gel, so this mascara is pretty multi-functional.

I’ve tried other mascara bases, but I keep coming back to this one. I’ve tried a Lancôme one that was pretty good, but it was much too expensive. This performs pretty well and is affordable, which is definitely win-win.

Pros:

  • Simple but cute bottle
  • Holds a curl
  • Good on its own or as a base
  • Can also be used on brows (Multi-functional)
  • Lasts a pretty long time
  • Affordable

Cons:

  • Can get clumps
  • Makes lashes really stiff

Overall rating: 8/10

Would I repurchase this? Yes.

And I have. I don’t really like having a lot of different products because that costs money and I’m too lazy to go through all of them every time I want to put make-up on, so I’m a huge fan of anything functional. Or affordable. Since this mascara is both, I like it. I like it even more because I can use it on its own, for a natural “I’m not wearing any make-up” look. This product is definitely a keeper for me.

Leave a Reply

