[Review] The Face Shop Real Nature Mask Ver. 2

Another review from my beauty haul! It’s another skincare product. This review is a bit on the long side, so I hope you guys are prepared!

Image

This is my first Asian face mask I’ve ever tried, so I was really excited. I got this one in Honey, just so you guys know.

I chilled it for about 5 minutes before I put it on, because I just thought that I’d like the sensation more if I did. It actually felt really nice. I am definitely going to do that with my other sheet masks. I didn’t want to refrigerate it for too long, though, because I was afraid that it going to mess up the mask in some way…I’m probably just being too cautious, though.
Anyways, the moment that I opened this mask, the first thing that hit me was the smell. It was honey, so I probably should’ve expected it to smell like honey, but I didn’t expect it to be so strong. It was super sweet smelling, but really smelled like honey. Let’s just say I was pretty impressed, since I was prepared for something far more artificial…and subtle. I love honey, though, and people who don’t might not really like the strong scent.

2013-12-03 20.08.33

The moment I took this mask out, I could feel how thick it was. It was super heavy and loaded with essence! It was also a little sticky…but I’m just going to assume that was from the honey. I’m hoping that’s because they have a lot of actual honey in it, not because they just wanted to imitate the scent and texture of honey. Seriously, though, it actually felt and smelled like there was honey all over my fingers. I was tempted to taste it, but decided against it, as it probably wouldn’t be a good idea. I did end up washing my hands, though, because the sticky feeling bothered me a bit.

The fit of this mask wasn’t great. It was way too big. The holes were decently sized, but the mask itself was huge. I tried to flatten it out to the best of my ability, but I gave up after a while. It didn’t slide off my face, though, and none of the essence was dripping down my face, so at least that was okay.

After a few minutes, though, a few spots on my face started to feel itchy. I got a little worried, so I lifted up those sections of the mask to check for any signs of irritation, but didn’t see or feel anything. I just left in for for another 20 minutes or so, but I was worried the entire time. Not exactly relaxing…by the way, I don’t have overly sensitive skin or anything. I only have mildly to not really sensitive skin, and I’ve only ever had 1 or 2 skincare products that I had bad reactions to.

Anyways, there was still a ton of essence left in the mask even after over 20 minutes, but I wasn’t quite sure what to do with it. I checked my face, and there were no signs of irritation. The essence didn’t absorb properly, though, and felt all sticky.

I gave it about another 15 minutes, but then I washed my face, because the stickiness hadn’t gone away.

I noticed that my skin was brighter and softer, but not significantly so. I also noticed that I had two or three red, slightly itchy bumps on my face.

Uh-oh.

On the bright side, they went away after an hour or so. It didn’t happen anywhere else on my face, but I didn’t want to take any chances, so I threw out the package and mask, even though there was still quite a bit of essence left in both. At least I can be confident that they did in fact load this mask a  ton of essence. So much that, even after the mask had been removed from the packaging, I could still feel the weight of the remaining essence sloshing around in it. Nice to know that at least I’m getting my money’s worth of product. (Minus the crazy shipping cost, of course)

This mask did what it claimed to do, but I wasn’t wowed by it or anything. If anything, I was put off by the stickiness and bumps I got afterwards. Luckily, both went away easily.

When I woke up the next morning, my face (Specifically, my T-zone) was super oily. More than normal, actually. My skin was still soft, though, and I could still see a bit of the brightening effect.

Pros:

  • Good honey scent
  • Nice scent (But it’s strong, so this can be a con for some)
  • Brightens skin
  • Makes skin softer
  • Lots of essence
  • Effects can be seen through to the next day

Cons:

  • Ill-fitting mask
  • Gave me itchy red bumps
  • Left sticky residue
  • Essence isn’t absorbed well
  • Makes my skin oily

Overall rating: 6/10

Would I repurchase this? Probably not.

I didn’t have a great experience with this, even though it worked decently. Sure, it made my skin soft and bright, but it also gave me red bumps and made my T-zone oily. I can only hope that I’ll have a better experience with my other masks. I’m just glad the bumps only lasted for about an hour.

If this is ever on sale, and I don’t have to pay shipping, I may give it another chance. Just not the honey mask, though, or anything that might be sticky or not absorb well. I just hope not all the masks are like that. I’m just not going to buy this mask online again, or from anywhere but in an actual store. It’s just not worth the shipping.

Anyways, that was my first experience with face masks…it wasn’t great, but there were enough positives that I haven’t lost hope yet. I’ll tell you how it goes with the other masks after I try them…once I get around to that.

2 thoughts on “[Review] The Face Shop Real Nature Mask Ver. 2

  1. I have this mask in english and it says to only leave it on for 10-12 minutes that might have been why your skin was oily and itchy for a while.

    • Perhaps. I’ve never had problems after leaving other masks on for longer than the suggested time, though, so I guess I didn’t think of that. Maybe you’re right…I’ll see if that happens again with any other masks.
      Also, thanks for stopping by! 🙂

Leave a Reply

